This is the "Home" page of the "Animal Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Animal Technology   Tags: animals  

Resources for studying ACM30210 Certificate III in Animal Technology and ACM50110 Diploma of Animal Technology.
Last Updated: Sep 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.bhtafe.edu.au/animaltechnology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Basics

Library Opening Hours and Locations

Renew your loans online by logging on to the catalogue:



 

eBooks

Cover Art
Laboratory animal anaesthesia - 4th ed. - Paul Flecknell
ISBN: 9780128000366
Publication Date: 2016
This eBook provides a basic guide to anaesthesia for a very diverse audience needing content, with straight-forward, structured style of writing.

Cover Art
Harkness and Wagner's biology and medicine of rabbits and rodents - 5th ed. - John E. Harkness; Patricia V. Turner; Susan VandeWoude; Colette L. Wheler
ISBN: 9781118709078
Publication Date: 2010
This is a practical reference in small mammal husbandry and health, encompassing the fields of laboratory animal medicine and pet practice.

Cover Art
Fluid therapy for veterinary technicians and nurses - Charlotte Donohoe
ISBN: 9781118292501
Publication Date: 2012
Encompassing catheter placement, monitoring of intravenous fluid therapy, long-term fluid therapy, intravenous nutrition, equipment, and potential complications, the book supports the reader in obtaining and maintaining intravenous access, monitoring patient responses, and reacting to changing in the patient’s condition.

 

Welcome!

This subject guide will provide you with starting points for locating resources on Animal Technology. This information supports the courses that are currently taught at Box Hill Institute.

Staff and students at Box Hill Institute are welcome to contact me about any aspect of the library services and resources. I am based at the Elgar Campus Library so feel free to drop by, call or email.

 

Books at Elgar Library

Cover Art
The Laboratory Mouse - 2nd ed. - Peggy Danneman; Mark A. Suckow; Cory Brayton
Call Number: 636.088 DAN (City)
ISBN: 9781439854211
Publication Date: 2013
This book includes coverage of the biological features, husbandry, management, veterinary care, experimental methodology, and resources applying specifically to the mouse.

Cover Art
Suturing principles and techniques in laboratory animal surgery: Manual and DVD - John J. Bogdanske, Scott Hubbard-Van Stelle, Margaret Rankin Riley, and Beth M. Schiffman.
Call Number: 636.0897 BOG
ISBN: 9781466553439
Publication Date: 2013
This book can be used to introduce the materials and instruments required for suturing. These topics are covered: instrumentation; needle types and applications; suture material, packaging and applications. Additionally, various suture patterns and associated principles for proper knot tying are thoroughly covered, including step-by-step descriptions.

Cover Art
Rabbit Production - Peter Robert Cheeke; James I. McNitt; Nephi M. Patton; Steven D. Lukefahr
Call Number: 636.9322 MCN
ISBN: 9781845939441
Publication Date: 2011
This is a book about the production of farmed rabbits. The book concerns rabbits bred for meat and fur, but also has information on pet rabbits and show rabbits. Beginning with an introduction to the field of rabbit production around the world and some basic breed and equipment information, further topics then covered include rabbit diseases, feeding, reproduction, behavior and welfare.

Cover Art
Laboratory mouse: procedural techniques : manual and DVD - John J. Bogdanske; Scott Hubbard-Van Stelle; Margaret Rankin-Riley; Beth M. Schiffman
Call Number: 616.027333 LAB
ISBN: 9781439850428
Publication Date: 2011
The trainers at the Research Animal Resources Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison developed videos, narratives, pictures, and text to teach common handling, injection, and bleeding techniques of mice. The resulting DVD and supporiting manual is a training resource and refresher.

Cover Art
Laboratory rat procedural techniques: manual and DVD - John J. Bogdanske; Scott Hubbard-Van Stelle; Margaret Rankin-Riley; Beth M. Schiffman
Call Number: 616.02733 LAB
ISBN: 9781439850442
Publication Date: 2011
This combination manual and DVD provides training on the proper handling of rats used in biomedical research. The DVD includes narrated video clips that demonstrate and describe each procedural technique. The manual contains handouts with color illustrations and descriptive text for each technique.

Cover Art
Clinical anatomy and physiology for veterinary technicians - 3rd ed. - Thomas P. Colville; Joanna M. Bassert
Call Number: 636.0891 COL
ISBN: 9780323227933
Publication Date: 2015
Start your veterinary technician education off on the right foot with this text. Combining expert clinical coverage with engaging writing and vivid illustrations, this popular text is the key to helping you understand the anatomic and physiologic principles that will carry you throughout your career.

Cover Art
Sniffy the virtual rat lite, version 3. 0 (with CD-ROM) - Tom Alloway; Greg Wilson; Jeff Graham
Call Number: 153.15230285 ALL
Publication Date: 2011
This book and CD-ROM gives students hands-on experience in setting up and conducting experiments that demonstrate the phenomena of classical and operant conditioning. A series of 'Mind Windows' enables students to visualize how Sniffy's experiences in the chamber produce the psychological changes that their textbooks discuss in connection with learning.

Cover Art
The mouse in animal genetics and breeding research - Eugene J. Eisen (ed.)
Call Number: 616.027333 MOU
ISBN: 1860945651
Publication Date: 2005
Mouse genetics research has made contributions to the understanding of basic genetics, human genetics, and livestock genetics and breeding. The topics in the book include the mouse genome sequencing effort, molecular dissection of quantitative traits, embryo biotechnology, ENU mutagenesis, and genetics of disease resistance.

Cover Art
Culture of animal cells : a manual of basic technique and specialized applications - R. Ian Freshney
Call Number: 571.638 FRE
ISBN: 9781118873656
Publication Date: 2016
This eagerly awaited edition reviews the increasing diversity of the applications of cell culture and the proliferation of specialized techniques, and provides an introduction to new subtopics in mini-reviews.

Cover Art
What's wrong with my mouse?: behavioral phenotyping of transgenic and knockout mice - 2nd ed. - Jacqueline N. Crawley
Call Number: 573.8419353 CRA
ISBN: 9780471471929
Publication Date: 2006
The chapters of this book are organised by behavioral domain, including measurements of general health, motor functions, sensory abilities, learning and memory, feeding and drinking, reproductive, social, emotional, and reward behaviors in mutant mice.

 

Search the Catalogue


Search for: in

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip