Scitable
Electronic resourcesMore resources on referencing
Nature Publishing Group Journals
This is the "Home" page of the "Science and Biotechnology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science and Biotechnology   Tags: biotechnology, science  

An introduction to resources for BSB03 Bachelor of Science and Biotechnology.
Last Updated: Oct 4, 2017 URL: http://libguides.bhtafe.edu.au/biotechnology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks

Cover Art
Tissue engineering - 2nd ed. - Clemens Van Blitterswijk; Jan De Boer
ISBN: 9780124201453
Publication Date: 2014
This book provides a broad perspective on tissue engineering for students coming to the subject for the first time.

Cover Art
Environmental biotechnology : theory and application - 2nd ed. - Gareth G. Evans; Judy Furlong
ISBN: 9780470975145
Publication Date: 2010
This book is designed to draw together the microscopic, functional level and the macroscopic, practical applications of biotechnology and to explain how the two relate within an environmental context.

Cover Art
Proteins: biochemistry and biotechnology - 2nd ed. - Gary Walsh
ISBN: 9780470669853
Publication Date: 2014
This is a definitive source of information for all those interested in protein science, and particularly the commercial production and isolation of specific proteins, and their subsequent utilization for applied purposes in industry and medicine.

Cover Art
Magic universe: a grand tour of modern science - Nigel Stuart Calder
ISBN: 9780192806697
Publication Date: Current Online Version: 2009
A tour covering the whole of modern science, from transgenic crops to quantum tangles.

Cover Art
The Oxford companion to the history of modern science - John L. Heilbron (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195112290
Publication Date: 2003
Written by more than 200 prominent scholars, The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science presents an unparalleled history of the field invaluable to anyone with an interest in the technology, ideas, discoveries, and learned institutions that have shaped our world over the past five centuries.

Cover Art
Science, technology, and society - Sal P. Restivo (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195141931
Publication Date: 2006
Science, technology, and society contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide.

Cover Art
Dictionary of scientists
ISBN: 9780192800862
Publication Date: Current Online Version: 2015
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available.

 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Box Hill Institute guide to Biotechnology and Science.

Staff and students at Box Hill Institute are welcome to contact me about any aspect of the library services and resources. I am based at the Elgar Campus Library so feel free to drop by, call or email.

 

New Books at Elgar Campus Library

Cover Art
Biotechnology fundamentals - 2nd ed. - Firdos Alam Khan
Call Number: 660.6 KHA
ISBN: 9781498723428
Publication Date: 2016
A single source reference covering every aspect of biotechnology, Biotechnology Fundamentals, Second Edition breaks down the basic fundamentals of this discipline, and highlights both conventional and modern approaches unique to the industry. In addition to recent advances and updates relevant to the first edition, the revised work also covers ethics in biotechnology and discusses career possibilities in this growing field.

Cover Art
Introduction to Biotechnology - William J. Thieman; Michael A. Palladino
Call Number: 660.6 THI
ISBN: 0321766113
Publication Date: 2013
This text provides the tools, practice, and basic knowledge for success in the biotech workforce. With its coverage of basic cell and molecular biology, fundamental techniques, new advances and hands-on applications, the Third Edition emphasises the future of biotechnology.

Cover Art
Culture of animal cells : a manual of basic technique and specialized applications - 7th edn - R. Ian Freshney
Call Number: 571.638 FRE
ISBN: 9781118873656
Publication Date: 2016
This eagerly awaited edition reviews the increasing diversity of the applications of cell culture and the proliferation of specialized techniques, and provides an introduction to new subtopics in mini-reviews.

Cover Art
The structure of scientific revolutions - 4th ed. - Thomas S. Kuhn; Ian Hacking (Introduction by)
Call Number: 501 KUH
ISBN: 9780226458120
Publication Date: 2012
With "The Structure of Scientific Revolutions", Kuhn challenged long-standing linear notions of scientific progress, arguing that transformative ideas don't arise from the day-to-day, gradual process of experimentation and data accumulation, but that revolutions in science, those breakthrough moments that disrupt accepted thinking and offer unanticipated ideas, occur outside of "normal science," as he called it.

Cover Art
Absolutely small : how quantum theory explains our everyday world - Michael D. Fayer
Call Number: 530.12 FAY
ISBN: 9780814414880
Publication Date: 2010
Absolutely Small investigates the counterintuitive world of the tiniest particles on earth---photons, electrons, atoms, and molecules---that act nothing like objects in our human-sized world and actually upend conventional notions of physics. Absolutely Small opens up this extraordinary field to nonscientists, as it presents complex ideas without the complex equations.

Cover Art
Environmental biotechnology - Monika Jain
Call Number: 628.5 JAI
ISBN: 184265814X
Publication Date: 2014
This book discusses role of microbes in making environment cleaner; biodegradation of Xenobiotic compounds; different biosensors and their significance; various physical chemical and Biological methods of solid waste treatment; aerobic and anaerobic methods of the waste water treatment; global environmental problems like Green house effect, acid rain, Ozone depletion and their treatment by biotechnological methods.

Cover Art
Molecular cloning: a laboratory manual - 4th ed. - Michael R. Green; Joseph Sambrook
Call Number: 572.8 GRE
ISBN: 9781936113422
Publication Date: 2012
This edition has been revised to feature current strategies and approaches to the preparation and cloning of nucleic acids, gene transfer, and expression analysis. It includes nucleic-acid based methods selected as the most widely used and valuable in molecular and cellular biology laboratories.

Cover Art
Entrepreneurship for scientists and engineers - Kathleen R. Allen
Call Number: 620.0068 ALL
ISBN: 9780132357272
This book is a guide to help the reader understand the potential role of entrepreneurship in their career and learn what it takes to bring a new technology from the laboratory to the marketplace. It walks the reader through the process of technology commercialisation discussing how the technical and business skills come together to turn a new technology into a product, process, or service that customers will pay for.

Cover Art
The indispensable guide to good laboratory practice (GLP) - 2nd ed. - Mark Gregory Slomiany
Call Number: 542.10685 SLO
ISBN: 1449553125
This guidebook is designed for those aspiring to work in biotech, pharma, and academic research, where partnerships with industry require ever greater awareness of drug development regulations. Thus, it serves to not only summarize GLP regulations, but explain the interaction of these various components in the development of a GLP compliant study.

Cover Art
Innovation and commercialisation in the biopharmaceutical industry: creating and capturing value - Bruce Rasmussen
Call Number: 338.476151 RAS
ISBN: 9781848447172
This book addresses the implications for traditional pharmaceutical companies and biopharmaceutical start-ups of the realignment of the industry knowledge-base. It shows that while traditional pharmaceutical companies have adjusted their business models to meet the challenges of biotechnology, biopharmaceutical start-ups have experienced problems.

Cover Art
Portfolio, program, and project management in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries - edited by Pete Harpum.
Call Number: 615.10684 POR
ISBN: 9780470049662
This book illustrates how high-quality program and project management is crucial for drug companies to remain competitive, to deliver good returns to investors, and ultimately to bring novel personalised medicine to patients. It covers topics such as the impact of organisational size on P3M; planning and control; and reducing product safety risk.

Cover Art
Innovation and entrepreneurship - 3rd ed. - John Bessant; Joe Tidd
Call Number: 658.421 BES
ISBN: 9781118993095
Publication Date: 2015
The text applies key theories and research on innovation and entrepreneurship and then reviews and synthesises those theories and research to apply them in a much broader and contemporary context, including the corporate and public services, emerging technologies and economies, and sustainability and development and creating and capturing value from innovation and entrepreneurship.

Cover Art
New venture creation: entrepreneurship for the 21st century - 10th ed., International ed. - Spinelli; Adams; Timmons
Call Number: 658.11 SPI
ISBN: 0077862481
Publication Date: 2016
This book is about the process of getting a new venture started, growing the venture, successfully harvesting it, and starting again. The book presents the substantial body of knowledge about the entrepreneurial process in a pragmatic way - through text, case studies, and hands-on exercises - to help readers compress their learning curves, reduce their ultimate risk and pain, and allow them to gain more from their subsequent entrepreneurial experiences.

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip