Skip to main content
site header image

Veterinary Nursing: Databases

An introductory guide to resources for ACM40412 Certificate IV in Veterinary Nursing, ACM50512 Diploma of Veterinary Nursing (General Practice) and ACM50412 Diploma of Veterinary Nursing (Emergency and Critical Care).

Databases

Databases are collections of materials gathered to meet the needs of staff and students. They contain periodical articles from Australia and around the world for a wide variety of subjects. Box Hill Institute Library also has databases of online books, Australian standards, and more.

You can search databases as you would the Internet but they generally provide more reliable and specialised information.

A full list of the databases that Box Hill Institute subscribes to can be found on StudentWeb.

ScienceDirect - Health & Life Sciences

The subject coverage of the database ScienceDirect - Health Sciences Collection includes Veterinary Science and includes full-text articles from Journal of Veterinary Cardiology, Preventive Veterinary Medicine, Research in Veterinary Science, The Veterinary Journal, Veterinary Parasitology, and Journal of Equine Veterinary Science. 

  Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier contains a number of full-text Veterinary Science publications including Journal of Veterinary Pharmacology & TherapeuticsDVM: The Newsmagazine of Veterinary Medicine, Internet Journal of Veterinary Medicine, Journal of Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care, and Veterinary Anaesthesia & Analgesia.

Tutorial: Using Academic Search Premier

In this video, Natasha does a search for ‘cat’ in EBSCOhost – Academic Search Premier. She demonstrates how to narrow a search by choosing a particular format and subject term and experiments with alternative keywords. She also shows us how to use the visual search function.

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J