This text walks readers through the minefield of laboratory calculations, helping to prevent the types of errors which could mean the loss of weeks of work. Topics range from basic scientific notations to complex subjects like nucleic acid chemistry and recombinant DNA technology.
Whether you need to brush up on the basics of addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division or you’re ready to tackle algebraic expressions and equations, this workbook will demystify math so you can get back to having fun in math class.
This is a textbook for any biologist needing to design experiments, sampling programs or analyse the resulting data. Worked examples are used to illustrate the analyses and an extensive reference list provides links to the relevant biological and statistical literature. A supporting web-site contains datasets, questions and software links.
Authoritative and reliable, this A–Z reference work provides jargon-free definitions for even the most technical mathematical terms. With entries ranging from Achilles paradox to zero matrix, it covers all commonly encountered terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics, for example, linear algebra, optimisation, nonlinear equations, and differential equations. In addition, there are entries on major mathematicians and on topics of more general interest, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos.
This invaluable dictionary covers all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability, presented in a clear and practical way. It also provides biographical entries on over 200 key figures in the field, plus coverage of statistical journals and societies. The new edition features expanded coverage of applied statistics. Entries are complemented by over 120 figures and diagrams, and many provide worked examples. Wide-ranging appendices include a historical calendar of important statistical events, lists of statistical and mathematical notation, and statistical tables.
This book, complete with exercises and answers, forms a course which will take you from beginner or intermediate level to being a confident mathematician. This book includes simple step-by-step explanations, to help you grasp new topics or those that have previously confused you.
This book is designed to help students gain the confidence needed to tackle maths in daily life. Starting from the very beginning and assuming no prior knowledge, it guides the reader through the fundamentals - decimals, percentages, graphs and tables.
This text explains concepts simply and clearly, without glossing over difficult points. Problem solving and mathematical modeling are introduced early and reinforced throughout, providing students with a solid foundation in the principles of mathematical thinking.
Helps researchers utilizing molecular biology and biotechnology techniques to understand which type of calculation to use and why. The author reviews the mathematics and statistics related to the day-to-day functions of biotechnology and molecular biology laboratories.
This text emphasises the conceptual development of statistical ideas and seeks to find meaning in data. This local adaptation retains the conversational approach of the original text, with real examples and case studies of appeal and interest to Australian and New Zealand students.
This edition retains and refines the core perspectives of the previous editions: a focus on how to interpret statistical results rather than on how to analyze data, minimal use of equations, and a detailed review of assumptions and common mistakes. With its engaging and conversational tone, this book provides a clear introduction to statistics for undergraduate and graduate students in a wide range of fields and also serves as a statistics refresher for working scientists.
This book aims to clarify the distinction and complementary roles of epidemiology and biostatistics in a range of settings, and train students on the complementary roles epidemiology and biostatistics play in carrying out selected activities in the health professions.
This book emphasises real-world public health problems and the research questions they inspire, providing a uniquely practical introduction to the statistical concepts and methods that working professionals use during investigations.
This book emphasises the conceptual development of statistical ideas and the importance of looking for - and finding - meaning in data. It explains statistical topics in the context of a range of examples and case studies.
This text offers an introduction to social statistics. It asks why the social researcher uses statistics and contains information on organising the data, measures of central tendency testing, differences between means and choosing statistical procedures for research problems.
The only Australian statistics book that includes a primer on basic maths to ensure a successful start to the study of statistics. A practical and user-oriented approach, using current data and numerous real-world examples. The author is a professor of Statistics at Macquarie University. Includes trial examination papers.
The latest full-text articles from Biometrics, an electronic journal which covers the role of statistics and mathematics in the biological sciences. It is available in the database Academic Search Premier.