This acclaimed, market-leading text emphasizes the basic theme of "different costs for different purposes," and reaches beyond cost accounting procedures to consider concepts, analyses, and management.
This text is an introductory course in management accounting for those seeking an understanding of basic principles and underlying concepts without detailed technical knowledge. It has a strong practical emphasis, with plenty of examples taken from the real world as well as numerical examples with step-by-step explanations.
This sixth edition of Trotman’s Financial Accounting: An Integrated Approach incorporates comprehensive coverage of new issues in sustainability with a chapter dedicated to current and emerging issues, while building upon the approachable, user-friendly, Australian-focused style of previous editions.
Horngren’s Accounting presents the core content of an accounting fundamentals course in an effective and modern format designed to help today’s learners succeed. Students learn, within an Australian business context, how financial decision-making is based on accurate and complete accounting information.
This text demonstrates the applications of accounting and explains the role that accountants fulfil in business decision making. These explanations are reinforced through frequent examples that help you develop the underlying business knowledge to succeed in your studies.
Students learn how to base decisions on two kinds of accounting information managerial and financial. Departing from the traditional approach taken by other introductory accounting textbooks, students apply both managerial and financial approaches within the topics examined in each chapter.
This edition of the text continues to cover the basic principles of business decision making using fundamental concepts and tools from the disciplines of financial accounting, management accounting and finance.
This text teaches students how to plan and implement financial management approaches, monitor and control finances, review and evaluate financial management processes, and explores financial mathematics and other techniques, financing sources and their mix, cash flow techniques for evaluating capital expenditure and techniques for financial analysis.
This text builds on the thorough and reliable explanation of the accounting process through the Business Knowledge chapter vignettes that apply the principles to practice. Previous editions were renowned for the number of exercises and problems, and the new edition builds on this superior teaching feature.
This introductory accounting series was first published as a single volume, TAFE Accounting, and became the best selling text in the VET market in Victoria. Subsequently a format of split volumes was adopted to address market requirements outside of these qualifications. The companion volume to this text is Accounting Basic Reports.
The companion volume to this text is Accounting to Trial Balance. This current edition has undergone a number of revisions to ensure it rigorously addresses competencies in the TAFE and RTO markets and to incorporate the changes made to FNS. It also includes a significant number of support materials, to assist students in courses with limited teacher interaction.
The chapters in Needles/Powers/Crosson have been organized into the Three Section Approach, which helps you more easily digest the content. The first section is Concepts, the second section is Accounting Applications and the third section is Business Applications. Real company examples are used throughout the chapters to show students the relevance of the material.
This new edition of a bestselling introductory accounting text is aligned to the latest International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) as adopted by the Australian Accounting Standards Board (AASB), and will satisfy the requirements of an increasingly diverse group of students.
By combining management accounting theory with cases from leading organisations across Australia, New Zealand and Asia-Pacific, this text contextualises management accounting into the broader aspects of business.
The integrated solutions in this book have been specifically designed to help improve student performance, meaning that students are prepared for and engaged in class, and they can successfully solve problems and analyse the results.
This second edition of Bookkeeping and Accounting Essentials will be revised to ensure alignment with the requirements of Certificate IV Financial Services Bookkeeping, to address the technical accuracy of the text and to add new website material.
The text includes a BAS Preparation using a Computerised Accounting System chapter, which covers recording transactions in MYOB v19.6/7, and generating Activity Statements using MYOB BASLink. An MYOB worked practice exercise and assessment are also included.
Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand's Financial Reporting Handbook 2015 incorporates a comprehensive listing of Australian Accounting Standards and Interpretations applicable at 30 June 2016, as issued at 1 December 2015.
As in previous editions, the Ninth Edition focuses on valuation and opens every chapter with a vignette based on financial decisions faced by contemporary, real-world companies and firms. Other highly useful features include mini cases, cautionary tales, lists of key terms, and a discussion of ethics.
For non-accountant hospitality managers, accounting and financial management is often perceived as an inaccessible part of the business. Yet having a grasp of accounting basics is a key part of management. Using an 'easy to read' style, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the most relevant accounting information for hospitality managers.
Updated throughout with extensive new material especially in the fields of managing revenue and the use of spreadsheets, the book covers a vast range of sectors including hotels, restaurants, contract catering, leisure tourism, events, cruise ships and theme parks.
The success of every business in the hospitality industry depends on maximizing revenues and minimizing costs. This Ninth Edition continues its time-tested presentation of fundamental concepts and analytical techniques that are essential to taking control of real-world accounting systems, evaluating current and past operations, and effectively managing finances toward increased profits.
A complete guide to using key managerial accounting techniques for planning, controlling and improving profitability at the business property level - the ''cutting-edge'' of routine decision making. Extended edition now includes a major new section Step-by-Step: Quantitative analysis of cost functions in hotels & restaurants.
This is a new text specifically designed to improve analytical skills and help readers use accounting and finance tools for managerial advantage. Ideal for self study as well as classroom learning, it includes worked examples throughout the chapters as well as real-world scenarios and full exercises at the end of each chapter.
This book features a clear introduction to accounting from its initial concepts, through recording transactions to the accurate interpretation of accounts, relevant case studies that illustrate key accounting principles, up-to-date terminology to prepare you for current business practice worldwide, summaries, activities and review questions to help reinforce your understanding.
In this edition, Linda Pinson shares a time-tested recipe for mastering recordkeeping and accounting fundamentals. It is illustrated with sample forms and worksheets, including up-to-date IRS forms and information for small business.
This book takes you step-by-step through what you need to know to use spreadsheets with confidence. With its focus on MS Excel and its clear, step-by-step approach, Mastering Spreadsheet Bookkeeping will help you to develop your own computerised bookkeeping skills with confidence.
This best-selling dictionary contains entries on all aspects of accounting, including financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions. Its international coverage includes important terms from the UK, US, Australia, India, and Asia-Pacific.
This is a resource on a variety of accounting concepts. You’ll get up to speed on: setting up your accounting system; recording accounting transactions; adjusting and closing entries; preparing income statements and balance sheets; planning and budgeting for your business; handling cash and making purchase decisions; and more.
This book shows the relevance of accounting methods to the economic and administrative problems of business. The book has been arranged to take the reader through the budgeting procedure of a representative business: demonstrating the relationship between budgets, accounts and the various business activities and showing how budgets and accounts link together the balance sheets at the beginning and end of the year.
Revenue management is concerned with maximizing revenue flows while controlling costs. This is a new management framework combining conventional management accounting concepts and methods with notions of yield management, pricing, and process management.
Qualitative Research in Accounting & Management
The latest articles available in the Emerald database.
Journal of Accounting & Organizational Change
The latest articles available in the Emerald database