Skip to main content
site header image

Guide for new users of the library: How to search

A guide to the libraries.

Discovery catalogue search tips

There are different ways to search for a book using the Discovery catalogue

  • the title of the book
  • the name of the author/s
  • keywords - words or phrases
  • subject headings - words or phrases used to describe the subject content of a book, DVD or CD

Sometimes you will find using these helpful.  For example if you are looking for a book called "On the Surface: Thread, Embellishment, & Fabric Manipulation" and you search for the words 'on the surface' using the default setting of keyword anywhere you will get 99 results (five pages to scroll through).  If you use the words 'on the surface' and select title, you will only have 37 titles (two pages) to look through to find the book you want.


Some tips

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase

"global warming"


Use ? to match a single character globali?ation will match:

· globalisation and

· Globalization

·  

Use # to match one or no character

colo#r will match:

· color and

· Colour

·  

Use * to match different word endings

communicat* will match:

· communicating

· communication

communicated etc.


Limit your results

      Catalogue only—tick to see only   books on shelf or eBooks

Full Text – tick to limit results to

articles with full text available from databases

 

Publication date – slide to search for articles only within a specified date range.

 

Author – Enter an author's name to limit your search to items by a     particular author.

 

Title – Enter an article title or words from a title to limit your search to  only items that match that title.

 


Truncation

Truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *. EDS finds all forms of that word.

For example, type comput* to find the words computer or computing.

Note: The Truncation symbol (*) may also be used between words to match any word.

For example, a midsummer * dream will return results that contain the exact phrase, a midsummer night’s dream.

 

 

Search the Discovery catalogue

Discovery: One search, quality results

Limit Your Results


NB: To see only what is in the library tick Catalogue Only, otherwise your results will include full text articles as Discovery searches databases at the same time.

Where is an item located?

When you locate an item you are interested in you will see this.


The audience experience : a critical analysis of audiences in the performing arts 
    Radbourne, Jennifer.

Publisher: Intellect,
Pub date: 2013.
Extent: xviii, 183 p. :
ISBN: 9781841507132

Holdings
Elgar Library
  Copy Material Location
792.013 AUD 1 Book On shelf


Holdings - the library where the item is located

Location -

   On shelf - item is located on the open shelving in the library

   Book Room - item is located in the Bookroom at the rear of the Elgar  library - accessible during staffed library hours

   Internet - access the item online (your login may be required)

   A due date - the item is on loan: place a hold to reserve it when it becomes available

We move books between libraries for you....

If an item you are interested in is located at a library different to the one you usually use, place a hold on the item and choose your preferred library as your pick up location. You will receive an email when the item is available.

eBooks - Basics

eBooks

We subscribe to several collections of eBooks.

Use the following link to access all these collections: e-Books

You will need to login with your Box Hill Institute ID and password to access most of the collections.

Ebooks also appear in the Discovery catalogue - click on the links in the catalogue to download or read online.

Read our LibGuide to eBooks for more information on how to access eBooks.

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J