Skip to main content
site header image

APA Referencing: Electronic Journal Article

Referencing help and examples for using the American Psychological Association (APA) referencing style.

Electronic Journal Article - One Author

In-text citation:

Edwards (2006, p. 77) notes the growing popularity of department stores for purchasing fashion items.  

Reference List:

Author's surname and Initials. (Year of publication). Title of journal article. Title of Journal in italics, volume number, (issue number or month) :pp. page numbers. Retrieved  month day,year, from  URL or DOI.

Example :

Edwards, B. (2006). We are fatally influenced by goods bought on Bond Street : London, shopping, and the fashionable geographies of 1930s Vogue. Fashion Theory, 10, (1/2): pp. 73-96. Retrieved November 12 , 2010, from EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier.

Barnes, C. (2013). MOOC's : the challenges for Academic Librarians. Australian Academic and Research Libraries, 44 (3) : pp. 163-175. Retrieved March 25, 2014 from DOI 10.1080/00048623.2013.821048

Points to note:

  • The title of the article is written in normal type .
  • All the words in the title of the magazine/journal have initial capital letters and are written in italics.
  • In the first example, 10  is the volume number written in italics. (1/2) is the issue number which is not in italics .  If you cannot find these details give the date of publication (month or season e.g. Spring.)
  • Include the Retrieved date  (date the article was viewed/printed/saved).
  • Include the name of the database in which the article was found.
  • If the database is a suite containing many databases, such as EBSCOhost, the suite  name can be added as well as the individual database name, as above.
  • The URL/permanent link to the article or DOI (Digital Object Identifier) can also be used after the retrieved statement to link to the source document

 

Electronic Journal Article - More Than One Author

In-text citation:

You, Cheng and Yan (2009, p. 37) point out that the production of yarns other than cotton also involves a significant level of pollution.

OR:

A by-product of the production of synthetic fibres is nitrous oxide, which depletes the ozone layer (You, Cheng & Yan 2009, p. 37)

Reference list:

You, S., Cheng, S. & Yan, H. (2009). The impact of textile industry on China's environment. International Journal of Fashion Design, Technology and Education, 2, (1) : pp. 33-43. Retrieved November 12, 2010, from EBSCOhost - Textile Technology Complete.

Points to remember:

  • Note the use of "and"  when the authors names are used as part of the writing versus"&" when the names are used inside the brackets of the in-text citation.
  • The title of the article is written in normal type .
  • All the words in the title of the magazine/journal have initial capital letters and are written in italics.
  • In this example 2 is the volume number written in italics. (1) is the issue number which is not in italics .  If you cannot find these details give the date of publication (month or season e.g. Spring.)
  • Always remember to include the Retrieved date  (date the article was viewed/printed/saved).
  • Include the name of the database in which the article was found.
  • If the database is a suite containing many databases, such as EBSCOhost, the suite  name can be added as well as the individual database name, as above.
  • The URL/permanent link to the article or DOI (Digital Object Identifier) can also be used after the retrieved statement to link to the source document.

 

Electronic Journal Article - Author Not Known

In-text citation:

The novel The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch is incisive on the issue of moral goodness, a subject to which Murdoch has devoted much of her life. ("Editorial Design", 2010, p. 66).

Reference list:

Editorial Design. (2010). Design Week, March, pp. 65-68. Retrieved  12 November, 2010, from EBSCOhost - Vocational Studies Complete. 

Points to remember

  • The title of the article takes the place of the name of the author when there is no author.
  • In-text the title of the atrticle is given in quotation marks
  • The first few words of the title may be used if the title is very long. It needs to be identifiable in the reference list.
© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J