EBSCO Video Tutorial
This is the "Home" page of the "Captive Animals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Captive Animals   Tags: animals, zoology  

Resources for studying ACM30310 Certificate III in Captive Animals.
Last Updated: May 29, 2017 URL: http://libguides.bhtafe.edu.au/captiveanimals Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Basics

Library Opening Hours and Locations

Borrowing Information

Renew your loans online by logging on to the catalogue:



 

Search the Catalogue


Search for: in

 

Welcome!

This subject guide will provide you with starting points for locating resources on Captive Animals. This information supports the courses that are currently taught at Box Hill Institute.

Staff and students at Box Hill Institute are welcome to contact me about any aspect of the library services and resources. I am based at the Elgar Campus Library so feel free to drop by, call or email.

 

eBooks

Cover Art
Studying captive animals: a workbook of methods in behaviour, welfare and ecology - Paul A. Rees
ISBN: 9781118629352
Publication Date: 2015
This book outlines the methods that may be used to study the behaviour, welfare and ecology of animals living under the control of humans, including companion animals, feral populations, and those living on farms and in zoos.
This book is a step-by-step guide to the whole process of conducting a scientific study: from designing the original project, formulating testable hypotheses, and collecting and analysing the data, to drawing conclusions from the work.

Cover Art
A dictionary of zoology - 4th ed. - Michael Allaby
ISBN: 9780199684274
Publication Date: 2014
This best-selling dictionary covers all aspects of zoology, including terms from the areas of ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics, and physiology. It also provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals. The fourth edition has been fully revised and updated and includes many new entries and also features new terms from anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, neurophysiology, immunology, and evolutionary development.

Cover Art
The new encyclopedia of reptiles and amphibians - 2nd ed. - Edited by Tim Halliday and Kraig Adler
ISBN: 9780198525073
Publication Date: Current Online Version: 2008
There has been a huge surge of interest in reptiles and amphibians over the past few years in both scientific research and common interest. This superbly designed and illustrated encyclopedia has brought together a wealth of new and fascinating information on amphibians and reptiles in one volume.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of mammals - 3rd ed. - edited by David W. Macdonald.
ISBN: 9780199206087
Publication Date: 2007
Written by an international team of experts and edited by renowned zoologist Professor David Macdonald, this new edition of The Encyclopedia of Mammals has been comprehensively revised and updated to reflect the most recent developments in modern zoology. It covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world in clear, accessible language, and is superbly illustrated throughout with photographs and original artwork.

 

New Books

Cover Art
Zoo animals: behaviour, management, and welfare - 2nd ed. - Geoffrey R. Hosey
Call Number: 636.0889 HOS
ISBN: 9780199693528
Publication Date: 2013
This book addresses the key questions surrounding the keeping of exotic animals in captivity.

Cover Art
Reptiles and amphibians of Australia - 7th ed. - Harold G. Cogger
Call Number: 597.90994 COG
ISBN: 9780643100350
Publication Date: 2014
This is a complete guide to Australia's rich and varied herpetofauna, including frogs, crocodiles, turtles, tortoises, lizards and snakes. For each of the 1194 species there is a description of its appearance, distribution and habits. Each species is accompanied by a distribution map and, in most cases, a colour photograph of the living animal.

Cover Art
A field guide to the mammals of Australia - 3rd ed. - Peter Menkhorst; Frank Knight
Call Number: 599.0994 MEN
ISBN: 9780195573954
Publication Date: 2011
This is the only comprehensive guide to identifying all 378 species of mammals known in Australia. This updated edition uses classic field-guide layout and each two-page spread provides all the information needed to make an identification.

Cover Art
Care of Australian wildlife : for gardeners, landholders and wildlife carers - Erna Walraven
Call Number: 639.90994 WAL
ISBN: 9781741102079
Publication Date: 2010
This book takes us into the world of various native animals, be they birds, lizards, frogs or mammals explaining their needs for shelter and food but it also instructs us how to safely and hygienically catch, handle and transport injured animals, how to feed them and house them.

Cover Art
Field guide to the birds of Australia - 8th ed. - Ken Simpson & Nicolas Day
Call Number: 598.0994 SIM
ISBN: 9780670072316
Publication Date: 2010
The guide contains 132 superb full-colour plates showing all Australian bird species; key points of identification using the latest classification system; distribution maps for all species; over 900 black and white line illustrations; breeding information; a vagrant bird bulletin; a core library list; and easy-to-use indexes. This eighth edition has been revised and updated, including some beautiful new plates.

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip