Information and Communication Technologies

Also explains why Google is not a good source of scholarly information. Video by Yavapai College 2011.

Databases are storage containers of information. Students will often use databases to find online journal articles. Our library does not have an ICT only databases. However it has huge multi-disciplinary databases that specialise in ICT information.

If you go to the search box and do a search you will bring up the results from any relevant databases. However, to use the Emerald database you must go to the database and search for articles there.

Main ICT databases

Academic Search Premier 

"Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. ... This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more" -- website

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus 

"Australia/NZ Reference Centre Plus combines Australasian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full text content" -- website

Emerald removed this year.

Reference & Video Databases

Oxford Reference Online 

Huge range of online dictionaries, encyclopedias and reference books across many subject areas.

ClickView Video Collection

Comprehensive collection of streaming videos across many subject areas. There are over 60 ICT videos.