Referencing 2 (Intermediate)Referencing 3 (Advanced)More resources on referencing
(a) What Is Plagiarism?(b) Why Is It Wrong?(c) How Can You Avoid Plagiarism?
This is the "Home" page of the "International Students/ELICOS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Students/ELICOS  

A library research guide for international students.
Last Updated: Oct 4, 2017 URL: http://libguides.bhtafe.edu.au/elicos Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Box Hill Institute guide for ELICOS students. These library resources can help overseas students upgrade their English language skills.

 

eBooks

Cover Art
The International Students' Handbook - Danny Ong; Richard Larkins (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1921410752
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Studying abroad is an appealing prospect but involves a great deal of thought and preparation. The process can be fraught with uncertainties and a lack of knowledge in many areas. Important decisions need to be made before departure and on a daily basis throughout an international student’s studies. This practical and comprehensive book will help you evaluate your options every step of the way.

Cover Art
How to Master the IELTS - C. J. Tyreman
ISBN: 0749459468
Publication Date: 2012
How to Master the IELTS is an all-in-one guide covering all four modules for both academic and general training exams. It includes full length practice exams as well as training in reading and writing. Along with free online audio files for the listening tests, this comprehensive, easy to follow book provides the essential practice necessary to test your level of English and begin your journey into international employment and education.

Cover Art
Check Your English Vocabulary for IELTS - Rawdon Wyatt
ISBN: 9781408153932
Publication Date: 2012
This workbook provides a resource for students studying towards the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) exam. Suitable for both self-study and the classroom, it includes a range of activities to help students build and improve their English vocabulary and language skills.

 

Books

Cover Art
Academic writing: a handbook for international students - 4th ed. - Stephen Bailey
Call Number: 808.0428 BAI
ISBN: 9781138778504
Publication Date: 2015
Academic Writing is a new kind of writing course for all international students who have to write coursework or exams in English. This practical book explains the writing process and covers all the key writing skills. Each part is split into short sections containing explanations, diagrams and practice exercises, for use in the classroom or self-study.

Cover Art
Plain words : a guide to the use of English - Rebecca Gowers (Revised by); Ernest Gowers
Call Number: 808 GOW
ISBN: 9780241960349
Publication Date: 2015
Six decades on, writer Rebecca Gowers has created a new edition of this now-classic work that both revises and celebrates her great-grandfather's original. Plain Words has been updated to reflect numerous changes in English usage, yet Sir Ernest's distinctive, witty voice is undimmed.

Cover Art
Oxford modern English grammar - Bas Aarts
Call Number: 425 AAR
ISBN: 9780199533190
Publication Date: 2011
This features tables, diagrams, and example sentences, and assumes no prior knowledge of grammatical concepts on the part of the reader. The Grammar's coverage ranges from the very basic--such as word structure, simple and complex phrases, and clause types--to the more sophisticated topics that lie at the intersection of grammar and meaning, including tense and aspect, mood and modality.

Cover Art
Understanding Australia: a guide for international students - Sally A. White
Call Number: 919.404 WHI
ISBN: 0521541999
This guide looks at everything needed to succeed academically and socially on campus. It covers Australia's social, cultural and family life, academic environment, and the culture of Australian educational institutions.

Cover Art
Introduction to academic English - 3rd ed. - Alice Oshima
Call Number: 808.042 OSH
ISBN: 0131933957
The Third Edition of Introduction to Academic Writing continues in the tradition of helping students to master the standard organisational patterns of the paragraph and the basic concepts of essay writing. The text's approach integrates the study of rhetorical patterns and the writing process with extensive practice in sentence structure.

 

New Grammar Book

Cover Art
English grammar today: an A-Z of spoken and written grammar - Ronald Carter et al.
Call Number: 428.24 ENG
ISBN: 9780521731751
Publication Date: 2011
This book is a reference guide to contemporary English grammar and usage. It comes with a CD-ROM that provides the book content. It also contains audio recordings of all the examples and dialogues in the book so that learners can hear as well as read the grammar.

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip