Skip to main content
site header image

Graphic Design: Home

A guide to resources in the Library and on the Internet for Graphic Design students

New titles in the library

Finding images

PrintsandPrintmaking.gov.au 
Prints and printmaking Australia Asia Pacific provides a gateway for information on printed images from Australia and the Asia Pacific region. The focus of the site is prints and printmaking by artists from Australia, Aboriginal Australia, the Torres Strait Islands, Papua New Guinea, Maori and Pakeha Aotearoa New Zealand and the Pacific region including , New Caledonia, Nuie, Samoa, Kiribati, and the Solomon Islands. The site also includes references to prints and printmaking in China, India, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. 

Behold - search images on Flickr

Bing image search - image search engine

Free Stock Photographs. An open, royalty-free gallery that contains many high resolution, free images.

Google image search - image search engine

Morguefile - free, license free images

National Gallery of Australia - prints, drawings and illustrated books

NYPL Digital Collections. Access to over 685,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections.

Trove. Find and get over 554,353,382 Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more

Picsearch- An image search service with more than 3,000,000,000 pictures

State Library Victoria pictures - includes paintings, sketches, and photos

Web Gallery of Art - searchable database of European painting and sculpture

Some books to get you started...

Staff are happy to help you find the resources you need.  If there is something on the catalogue that you would like and it is on loan, follow the link to the catalogue record and click on PLACE HOLD and we'll keep it for you when it is returned.

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J