This is the "Home" page of the "Music - News and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music - News and Resources   Tags: dance, music, music business, music industry, music_business, music_industry  

What's New in Music, Dance & Music Business at the BHI Whitehorse Library
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.bhtafe.edu.au/music-news Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

YOUR TUTOR HUB

WELCOME

Welcome to the YourTutor Hub. If during your study you need guidance then help is at hand. YourTutor can assist with specific course material as well as help with essay writing, proofreading, maths and research skills.

 

YourTutor Connect Live gives you live, on-demand and one-on-one chat from 3pm – 12am Sunday to Friday.

 

 

 

Using YourTutor Check Mate you can have your draft essay reviewed with feedback within 24 hours of submission to the service.

 

About YourTutor

 

MUSIC, DANCE AND PRODUCTION

Combine your interest in performing arts or design with a rewarding career in the vibrant and constantly changing Creative Industries sector. Our courses in arts, music, composition, music business, fashion design, sound and technical production, dance, graphic design, interior design or visual arts offer you training in current industry practices as well as opportunities to develop your full creative potential. We offer a progressive range of courses from Certificates to Masters Degrees so you can start your learning at a level that suits you. Our degrees offer anunparalleled combination of applied learning with a focus on nurturing creativity and innovation.  

 

ELIZABETH STEWART, BACHELOR OF APPLIED MUSIC (COMPOSITION)

fos-music-arts-profile

Music is Elizabeth Stewart’s passion and she says that studying at Box Hill Institute was the best experience of her life. She says she chose Box Hill Institute for its diversity and reputation.

“I studied (composition) because I really, really wanted to learn how to score music for film television and multimedia. I had a background in acting and a background in music, so I combined the two together and just developed this burning passion to write music for film.”

“Within the music industry Box Hill Institute is known for its passionate teachers, its innovation and the diversity of the music studied. I had studied music briefly at another institution, but the focus was very traditional — classic and baroque — whereas at Box Hill we were given every type of music to study and compose from contemporary, to jazz as well as traditional. At Box Hill it was very practical and all round. We studied the music but we also learnt how to compose and produce which enables me to compete in this competitive industry. The Institute has also given me the business, music preparation and language skills to confidently lead and develop the music ensembles in which I perform, conduct and direct.”​​

 

Music Industry Reports

Music Publishing and Sound Recording in Australia

http://clients1.ibisworld.com.au.ezproxy.bhtafe.edu.au/reports/au/industry/default.aspx?entid=2234

Franchising in Australia Report X0002

http://clients1.ibisworld.com.au.ezproxy.bhtafe.edu.au/reports/au/industry/default.aspx?entid=1902

IFPI Global Music Report 2016- Music Consumption exploding worldwide

http://www.ifpi.org/downloads/GMR2016.pdf

Book reviews and journal articles by Warren Burt

 

Plagiarism and its consequences

 

MUSIC COURSES

Whether you’re interested in music performance, composition, audio production, or the business of music, Box Hill Institute offers a progressive range of courses, from certificates to master degrees. In fact, Box Hill Institute was the first TAFE institute in Australia to offer a degree in applied music.

With more than 500 students across 8 degrees, supervised by close to 60 teaching staff we are Australia’s largest specialized contemporary music program, and one of the largest in the world. Our teaching staff are some of Melbourne’s finest performers, composers and audio engineers with extensive industry backgrounds and careers. They have worked with some of the best and most well-known artists in the business. Collectively, our staff have won or been nominated for Grammy awards, Aria awards, AFI awards, Triple J Unearthed competitions, and an extensive list of other prestigious awards.

You will work with experienced industry professionals, using the latest techniques and technology. You will work in a challenging, hands-on environment that aims to meet the requirements of industry and prepare you as a highly skilled, motivated and creative professional. As a graduate, you will be well prepared for a range of careers or further study. Your nationally-accredited qualification will be recognised Australia-wide. Get your music industry career in tune with Box Hill Institute.

If you are contemplating entry into one of our music courses you may want to come along to one of our music entrance audition preparation workshops. Our music department also has a dedicated Facebook page.

Music auditions are on now! For more information contact Creative Industries on 9286 9695.

 

FREE ONLINE MUSIC THEORY SHORT COURSE (BHMT)

This course is designed to assist those wishing to develop their music theory skills as a musician and also to prepare for entrance tests for accredited music courses.

ONLINE MUSIC THEORY SHORT COURSE

 

The Institute hosts special high profile music industry guests on a regular basis. This year, music students were treated to the only workshop presented in Australia from the famous jazz guitarist and his band Mike Stern who was recently out for the Melbourne International Jazz Festival.

Online Resources

Links to Selected Online Resources

High-quality resources we pay for - Plus some good free ones.

Reference coverage of music & musicians

Encyclopedia of Popular Music
see Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. 

Oxford History of Western Music
by Richard Taruskin.

Rock music & its history

Rock’s Backpages
Rock music writing, musician interviews, and reviews.

Streamed music

Naxos Music Library
High quality streamed music from leading labels, mostly classical.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Comprehensive collection of streamed jazz music.

Magazine & journal articles

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
A large collection of general academic resources consisting of journal articles. Useful for assignments (search it) or ongoing awareness (set up alerts).
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (EBSCOhost)
A collection giving coverage of mainstream Australian and US magazines and other sources. Includes New Yorker.
Clavier Companion(Journal)
Frances Clark Center for Keyboard Pedagogy. Also see print TOCs.
Electronic Musician(Journal)
Record - Produce - Perform. See print TOCs for full issues.
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
A collection of  Australian resources
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full-Text
Large collection of full text articles from a wide range of music journals and magazines.
The New Soundtrack(Journal)
Focuses on the aural elements which combine with moving images.
Newsletter and Journal of the Catgut Acoustical Society
Contributions from acousticians interested in the acoustics of the violin and other string instruments
Organised Sound (Journal)
An international journal of music technology.
Popular Music(Journal)
An international academic journal covering all aspects of popular music.
Resonate Magazine
Online music and performing arts periodical.
Tape Op
Known as “the creative music recording magazine". See print TOCs for full issues.
Vocational Studies Complete (EBSCOhost)
Large collection of industry and trade magazines. Includes Billboard and Music Week, and audio production titles.
Wax Poetics (Journal)
Archive of a magazine dedicated to jazz, funk, soul, Latin, hip-hop, reggae, blues, and R&B. See print TOCs for current issues.

 

Scores & manuscripts

Boosey Online Scores
20th and 21st century composers
Cantus database
Index of Latin ecclesiastical chants
Early Music Online
Digitised copies of early printed music
Music Treasures Consortium
Online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials
Pendlebury Library of Music links
Free online scores & manuscripts
Petrucci Music Library
Iconic resource for classical music. Highly recommended. Also known as IMSLP.
Take Six website
Manuscripts from UK folksong collectors
Trent Codices
Manuscripts of 15th century sacred vocal music (Turn on "Translate")

Music Business resources

Austlii Australasian legal databases
Federal and State acts and regulations.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australian statistics.
Business Collection (Informit)
An Australian resource
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
An international resource strongest in US material, including journals and reports
Fairfax News Store
Australian news from Fairfax print media
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Valuable resource for in depth analysis of data trends, market share and forecasts
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Regional Business News
Safari Business Books Online
Business, marketing, management, and communication books.

Music Education resources

A+ Education (Informit)
Produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER).
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Teacher Reference Center
Libraries Australia
Catalogue of holdings at Australian libraries.
Standards Online
Australian and international standards for trades and services.

University Music Libraries

Indiana University's Cook Music Library
Monash University's Music & Multimedia Collection
University of Melbourne's Lenton Parr Library (VCA)
University of Melbourne's Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library (Conservatorium)
University of Sydney's Conservatorium Library

 

      

    PROFILE

    Profile Image
    Mark Suares
    Contact Info
    Information Services Librarian
    Whitehorse Library
    1000 Whitehorse Rd Box Hill
    Mobile: 0416630442
    9286 9634 / ext. 9634 Information Desk
    Send Email
     

    New and Recommended Titles In the Library - Books, CDs and DVDs

    Cover Art
    Gurrumul - Robert Hillman
    Call Number: 780.92 GUR
    ISBN: 9780733332647
    Publication Date: 2016-10-11

    Cover Art
    The Hatred of Music - Pascal Quignard; Matthew Amos (Translator); Fredrik Rönnbäck (Translator)
    Call Number: 780.1 QUI
    ISBN: 9780300211382
    Publication Date: 2016-03-22

    Cover Art
    John Cage: Diary - John Cage; Joe Biel (Editor); Richard Kraft (Editor)
    Call Number: 818 CAG
    ISBN: 9781938221101
    Publication Date: 2015-10-27


    Cover Art
    Jazz Diasporas - Rashida Braggs
    Call Number: 781.6509 BRA
    ISBN: 9780520279353
    Publication Date: 2016-01-26

    Cover Art
    Into the Maelstrom: Music, Improvisation and the Dream of Freedom - David Toop
    Call Number: 781.36 TOO
    ISBN: 9781628927696
    Publication Date: 2016-05-05

    Cover Art
    Shostakovich's Music for Piano Solo - Sofia Moshevich
    Call Number: 786.2092 MOS
    ISBN: 9780253014221
    Publication Date: 2015-05-28

    Cover Art
    Digital Signatures - Ragnhild Brøvig-Hanssen; Anne Danielsen
    Call Number: 781.640285
    ISBN: 9780262034142
    Publication Date: 2016-02-19

    Cover Art
    Generative Processes in Music - John Sloboda (Editor)
    Call Number: 781.11 GEN
    ISBN: 9780198508465
    Publication Date: 2001-03-22

    Cover Art
    The World in Six Songs - Daniel J. Levitin
    Call Number: 780.0155 LEV
    ISBN: 9780452295483
    Publication Date: 2009-07-28

    Cover Art
    How to Listen to Great Music - Robert Greenberg
    Call Number: 781.17 GRE
    ISBN: 9780452297081
    Publication Date: 2011-04-26

    © Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip