Inside the databases there are eJournals. Rather than searching the whole of a database these links help you to search just a specific eJournal. The most recent publication date is listed. Often publishes withhold articles from the last 18 months.
Australasian Public Libraries and Information services 2012
Peer-reviewed articles and shorter items on publicly accessible library and information services in Australia and New Zealand.
IFLA Journal 2022
Journal of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions. It publishes original research, case studies, and essays
Incite 2022
Journal of the Australian Library and Information Association 2022
Library Journal 2022
What are databases?
Databases are collections of materials gathered to meet the needs of staff and students. Databases may contain periodical articles from Australia and around the world for a wide variety of subjects. Box Hill Institute Library also has databases of online books, Australian standards, and more.
You can search databases as you would the Internet but they provide much more reliable information
Many of our databases can now be searched via our Discovery catalogue. Search on shelf items, e-books and online journal articles all in a single search. See the Books, E-books tab on this guide for a search window.
Also explains why Google is not a good source of scholarly information. Video by Yavapai College 2011.
You need to log in to StudentWeb to access these resources - click on the links below to access.
Academic Search Premier - Designed specially for academic institutes. Academic Search Premier is a multi-discinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including 3,000 peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,.......
Australian Bureau of Statistics - Australian statistics.
Austlii Australasian legal databases - Federal and State acts and regulations.
Australian Dictionary of Biography - Biographical profiles.
Ebscohost - Periodical articles and reference materials. The primary source for Library Studies is 'Library, Information Science and Technology abstracts with full text', but it is often worth searching additional databases, such as 'Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre' (especially for Australian content and newspapers), 'Academic Search Premier' and 'Business Source Premier'
Informit APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs - Full Text) - Australian Periodical articles, general/humanities coverage. Contains quite a few Library focused titles. We now also have other Informit databases : A+ Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, Health and Indigenous Collections.
Libraries Australia - Catalogue of holdings at Australian libraries.