Skip to Main Content
** Know someone looking to study? Tell them about Box Hill Institute's
Winter Discovery Nights: Tue 23 Aug @ Box Hill, Thu 25 Aug @ Lilydale, 3pm - 7pm
ASSOCIATIONS AND NETWORKS
MUSEUM COLLECTIONS
-
- The Victoria and Albert Museum (London) - for all aspects of art and design. Graphics and Advertising. Prints
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York) - wide range of information including a timeline of art history, thematic essays, plus a wonderful collection of works of art.
- Hermitage Museum - (St Petersberg, Russia) -One of the world's richest museums with over 3 million objects.
- National Gallery Victoria - NGV International in St Kilda Rd and NGV Australian in Federation Square
- National Gallery of Australia
- Louvre Museum - National Museum of France -Paris and Lens, near Calais just south of Belgium
- Prado Museum - (Madrid, Spain)
- Tate Museums (England) - Four museums of Art & Design - the Tate Modern is one of the world's most visited museums
- Design Museum, London
- Musee National d'Art Moderne - (France) has the largest collection of modern art in Europe
- Pinakothek der moderne - (Munich, Germany) Has four collections: Art, Graphics (prints) architecture and International Design
- Uffizi Gallery (Florence, Italy) - popular gallery with classic(al) art
- Triennale Design Museum (Milan, Italy)
- Red Dot Design Museum - Singapore "best of design today"
- Stedelijk museum - Breda Holland - a museum devoted to graphic design.
- Dox - Centre for Contemporary Art (Prague - Czech Republic)
- Museum of Design, Zurich (Switzerland)
- National Gallery of Canada
- Vitra Design Museum - This museum claims to house one of the largest collections of modern furniture design.
- Design Museum - the Design Museum of Finland.
- The Cooper Hewitt National Design Museum (New York).
- The Graphic Design Collection at the Goldstein Museum of Design (US)
Museum of Modern Art Tokyo (Japan)
- Design India - Museums related to Design
GENERAL DESIGN INTEREST
- Design Directory - a directory of resources and links created 'by designers for designers'.
- Symbols.com - information on thousands of Western signs.
- Art, Design, and Visual Thinking - a very useful resource created by Charlotte Jirousek, covering the language of design, media of design and the evolution of the fine arts.
- Graphis - the Library no longer subscribes to this magazine but there are some interesting features in the magazine website, including access to the archives and the ability to create your own profile and portfolio.
- Clever and Quirky packaging - 36 of the best designs
- Chinese Design Museum coming through collaboration with V & A London
