Biosecurity Science: eBooks

This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the assessment and management of potentially dangerous infectious diseases, quarantined pests, invasive (alien) species, living modified organisms and biological weapons.

This book takes a holistic approach to biosecurity with coverage of pathogens, prevention and response methodology.

This book is a source of information on practical and innovative approaches to biosecurity surveillance.

This book brings together contributors on issues relating to the perceptions of the threat of biological weapons and how states are responding, or not, to the challenges posed by the potential of the products of the life sciences.

With contributions from experts in all facets of biosecurity, this book explains the fundamental elements of biosecurity as well as the related concepts of biosafety and biosurety, detailing how all three concepts fit within the framework of biodefense.

Biosecurity in the Global Age comprehensively analyzes the security threats that biological weapons and naturally occurring infectious diseases pose to societies in the early 21st century.

Biosecurity Dilemmas examines conflicting values and interests in the practice of “biosecurity,” the safeguarding of populations against infectious diseases through security policies.

This book explores how potential bio-threats and risks may evolve post 9/​11 given the rapid changes in biotechnology and synthetic biology. It also explores what role intelligence communities can play in understanding threats and risks.

This book's research contributes to a strategy for managing plant biosecurity in complex contexts.

This text provides a wealth of practical information on the application of biosecurity measures in both farm and companion animal settings.

This second edition of Handbook of Equine Parasite Control brings together all the details needed to appropriately manage parasites in equine patients and support discussions between horse owners and their veterinarians.

A practical reference enabling readers to better understand and interpret a range of soil test methods.

The Australian Soil Classification provides both a framework for organizing knowledge about Australian soils and a means of communication among scientists and land managers.

This book covers an array of modern topics—from the biology of the gastrointestinal tract and the analysis of microbial populations to understanding bio-feed ingredients and the use of enzymes, oliosaccarides, probiotics, and organic acids to replace antibiotics in animal diets.

Compiled by two leading experts in the field, this volume provides a concise, timely, and authoritative review of some of the most problematic infections of the new century. It presents issues and new ideas for preventing and controlling infectious diseases.

Regulatory Theory includes chapters on the social-psychological foundations of regulation as well as theories of regulation such as responsive regulation, smart regulation and nodal governance.

This Toolkit offers a simple tool for assessing the inspection and enforcement system in a given jurisdiction, institution or structure.

The state of environmental contamination by plant protection products (synthetic substances, biocontrol products) and their transformation products.

Profiles plant invasions in explicitly geographical contexts; on the world continents (Chapters 5-11), as well as islands (Chapter 12) and mountains (Chapter 13).

This book bridges the knowledge gap between the processes operating within ecosystems and the practices used to eradicate invasive plant species.

This comprehensive guide to wetland weeds covers both native and introduced species, ranging from minor or localised environmental problems to those that should not be tolerated in any situation.

This unique book identifies the balance among these factors to show how biological control can be integrated into ecosystem restoration.

The book presents an analysis of the ecological, economic and social threats posed by the introduction and spread of non-native species.

Emphasizing recognition and diagnosis, this book combines hundreds of color photographs with clear and concise text highlighting clinical features, differentials, and diagnostic information for each disease.

Covers a wide range of essential topics on swine production, health, and management.

This book charts the historical development of this vital branch of medicine in a concise volume, covering both the basic science involved and the clinical applications.

Risk assessment has become a central concern of governments, organisations and the professions, and the communication of risk is a crucial part of professional work.

This book presents a way of thinking about writing that emulates the way good scientists think about research. It concentrates on the structure of articles, rather than simply on grammar and syntax.

This highly readable and entertaining book captures the breadth of research into best practice science communications.

This book covers all essential aspects of writing scientific research articles, presenting eighteen carefully selected titles that offer essential, “must-know” content on how to write high-quality articles.

Insect-Borne Diseases in the 21st Century provides a comprehensive look at the most notorious diseases carried by insects. It offers an assessment of current and potential insect-vectored diseases as they relate to human health and agricultural and livestock production.

Covers basic principles of communicable disease control and health protection, major syndromes, control of individual infections, main services and activities.

Bats and Human Health: Ebola, SARS, Rabies and Beyond covers existing literature on viral, bacterial, protozoan, and fungal infections of bats and how these infections affect bat populations.

Veterinary Infection Prevention and Control is a practical guide to infection surveillance and control in the veterinary setting.

This book provides descriptions of groups of microorganisms and the diseases which they cause.

Study Skills for Foundation Degrees offers a step-by-step guide to the skills needed to successfully complete a Foundation Degree.

This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability.

Discover how to excel at: Note-taking, speed-reading and essay-writing, improving your memory, critical thinking and analysis, using the internet to supplement study, and exam skills.

A guidebook to those students interested in improving their study life and their study skills. This guidance is made to include time management, listening to lectures, reading, learning and retention, library use, essay-writing, and preparing for tests.