Biosecurity Science: Research / Statistics

The sixth edition of The Research Process is an easy-to-use introduction to quantitative and qualitative research methods. The book emphasises the process of research in an accessible and readable way.

How do you turn a really good idea into a really good question, and how do you turn this into successful research?

This handbook guides the would-be researcher through the variety of possibilities open to them under the heading 'research' and provides students with the confidence to embark on their dissertations.

This fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument.

John W. Creswell explores the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study.

This text presents a fresh approach to doing qualitative research. It offers a unique balance of theory and clear-cut choices for customising every phase of a qualitative study, including adaptive ways of designing studies.

Fully revised for the third edition, this text provides an advanced yet accessible introduction to the tools, terminology and research perspectives that students need to know in order to successfully complete research-based assignments.

Offering a step-by-step approach to conducting literature reviews, the Fifth Edition features new research and examples.

Continues the pioneering tradition of providing clear and concise instruction for understanding research and developing proposals for all three approaches.

From first planning to writing up your research, this complete guide will help you push your project forward.

How do you turn a really good idea into a really good question, and how do you turn this into successful research?

This books shows the reader how to design and construct projects, introducing the various observation modes in use today.

This book provides tools for understanding social research methods and for applying these concepts both inside and outside the classroom.

This book covers all the basics of: where to start; how to manage a research project; methods, techniques and resources.

This book presents a summary of every aspect of the qualitative research process from nuts-and-bolts methods to examinations of methodological theory.

This text teaches readers how to plan, conduct, and write a research project and select and interpret data so they can become better consumers of research.

This book provides invaluable guidance for thinking through and planning a qualitative study. Rather than offering recipes for specific techniques, master storyteller Robert Stake stimulates readers to discover ""how things work"" in organizations, programs, communities, and other systems.

Research design is fundamental to all scientific endeavors, at all levels and in all institutional settings. This book is an authoritative examination of the concepts and processes underlying the design of an interpretive research project.

Telling people about research is just as important as doing it. But many researchers, who, in all other respects, are competent scientists, are afraid of writing.

This lively, practical text presents a fresh and comprehensive approach to doing qualitative research. The book offers a unique balance of theory and clear-cut choices for customizing every phase of a qualitative study.

This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. It can also be used by English speakers and is a practical, user-friendly book.

This book covers all essential aspects of writing scientific research articles, presenting eighteen carefully selected titles that offer essential, "must-know" content on how to write high-quality articles.

Provides complete coverage of the statistical ideas and methods essential to students in agriculture or experimental biology.

Statistics in Plain English is a straightforward, conversational introduction to statistics that delivers exactly what its title promises.

The only Australian statistics book that includes a primer on basic maths.

This introductory textbook provides a brief overview of statistics to help readers gain a better understanding of how statistics work.

This book offers a quick and basic guide to using SPSS and provides a general approach to solving problems using statistical tests.

Drawing on real world problems to introduce conceptual issues, In The Art of Statistics, David Spiegelhalter guides the reader through the essential principles we need in order to derive knowledge from data.

This Very Short Introduction considers the capabilities of biometrics-based identity checking, from first principles to the practicalities of using different types of identification data.

Do you shy away from using numbers? Basic Mathematics can help. An easy-to-follow guide, it will ensure you gain the confidence you need to tackle maths and overcome your fears.