Horticulture: Farming

How to farm in a way that cares for the environment, without using synthetic chemicals. Includes composting, earthworms, converting to organics and certification.

The book is aimed at providing background information on organic farming techniques and managing livestock organically, so the information provided can be tailored to suit your farm and put into practise.

Covers principles of organic cropping plus extensive case studies for a range of enterprises such as soybeans, wheat, citrus, nuts, coffee, strawberries, tropical fruit, sheep, cattle, vegetables and many other examples.

Natural Asset Farming: Creating Productive and Biodiverse Farms reveals seven key natural assets and why they are so valuable for biodiversity and productivity on farms.

This book aims to fill the gap of knowledge on environmental offsets, from theory to practice. Environmental Offsets addresses four major forms of environmental offsets - biodiversity offsets, carbon offsets, offsetting the depletion of non-renewable resources and offsetting the destruction of built heritage.

Ecoagriculture for a Sustainable Food Future describes the ecological history of food production systems in Australia, showing how Aboriginal food systems collapsed when European farming methods were imposed on bushlands.

This book is one in a series produced by New South Wales Department of Primary Industries to provide simple explanations of a wide range of practical tasks performed in backyard poultry production.

Horse AgSkills provides a basic guide to many of the skills used when handling, riding and caring for horses. The book contains step by step instructions, diagrams, and full colour.

Running a Small Beef Herd provides an introduction to beef production for those about to enter the industry and is an ongoing reference for anyone managing a small herd of beef cattle on their property.

Topics covered: General safety precautions; Animal welfare; Quality assurance; Working safely in yards; Working safely with cattle in a bailhead; Drafting and counting cattle; Recognising and avoiding stress.

This book has two parts. Part 1 will help you choose the irrigation system that is right for you, and Part 2 will help you select, operate and maintain your pumping equipment.

Fencing is a key part of sound land management. This book contains 12 chapters and over 120 diagrams covering building a fence, including ends, corners, wire, posts, safety and step-by-step guides.

If you're ready to be your own boss, read this book and be inspired by the experiences of 25 farmers from across Australia.

The book contains step-by-step instructions, diagrams and full-colour pictures, and covers the pre-start safety check, changing the oil and filter, operating a tractor in field conditions, reversing a trailed implement and attaching, operating and removing a PTO-driven implement.

This is the third edition of Property Planning and updates the information in previous editions.

This authoritative and engaging book is essential reading for farmers and Landcare scheme participants, but will also appeal to those who enjoy reading about the Australian bush and the resourceful characters who live there.

This publication covers where pastures fit in a farming system for livestock, cropping and the environment.

Bill Gammage and Bruce Pascoe demonstrate how Aboriginal people cultivated the land through manipulation of water flows, vegetation and firestick practice.

Pig Agskills provides a basic guide to some of the skills and practices of pig production. The book contains step-by-step instructions, diagrams, and full-colour pictures.

Sheep Agskills provides a guide to the basics of handling and caring for sheep. The book contains step-by-step instructions, diagrams, and full-colour pictures.

This book explores the secrets of soil, our most basic agricultural resource.