This is the "Home" page of the "Horticulture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Horticulture   Tags: agriculture, horticulture, plants  

Library resources for HOR21 Certificate II & HOR31 III Horticulture
Last Updated: Jul 12, 2017 URL: http://libguides.bhtafe.edu.au/horticulture Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Encyclopedia

Cover Art
The Australian gardening encyclopedia
Call Number: 635.04 AUS
ISBN: 9781741963151
Publication Date: 2008

 

Fauna

Cover Art
A field guide to the mammals of Australia - 3rd ed. - Peter Menkhorst; Frank Knight
Call Number: 599.0994 MEN
ISBN: 9780195573954
Publication Date: 2011
This is the only comprehensive guide to identifying all 378 species of mammals known in Australia. This updated edition uses classic field-guide layout and each two-page spread provides all the information needed to make an identification.

Cover Art
Field guide to the birds of Australia - 8th ed. - Ken Simpson & Nicolas Day
Call Number: 598.0994 SIM
ISBN: 9780670072316
Publication Date: 2010
The guide contains 132 superb full-colour plates showing all Australian bird species; key points of identification using the latest classification system; distribution maps for all species; over 900 black and white line illustrations; breeding information; a vagrant bird bulletin; a core library list; and easy-to-use indexes. This eighth edition has been revised and updated, including some beautiful new plates.

Recognise fauna. AHCFAU201A Learner guide - Samantha Bywaters
Call Number: 591.994028 BYW
ISBN: 1865067822
Publication Date: 2013
This learning guide will help you to recognise animals to enable you to make a contribution to their conservation. It relates to the Unit of Competency - AHCFAU201A: Recognise Fauna.

Cover Art
Living with snakes and other reptiles - Simon Watharow
Call Number: 597.90994 WAT
ISBN: 9780643097216
Publication Date: 2011
Living with Snakes and Other Reptiles provides a layperson's account of why these creatures behave the way they do and what makes people get into trouble.

 

Bees

Cover Art
Queen bee breeding - Elizabeth Frost and Doug Somerville
Call Number: 638.145 FRO
ISBN: 9781742569130
Publication Date: 2016
Whether your goal is to rear a few queen bees or thousands, this manual provides the basic knowledge and instruction to get you started and can be applied to beekeeping operations ranging from several thousand colonies to one or two.

Cover Art
Australian native bees - Anne Dollin [and others]
Call Number: 638.10994 DOL
ISBN: 9781742569567
Publication Date: 2016
Combining the substantial expertise of many of Australia's leading native bee researchers, this book is a guide to observing and keeping Australia's broad range of native bee species.

Cover Art
Honey harvesting and extracting - Douglas Somerville, Bill Winner, Elizabeth Frost.
Call Number: 638.1 SOM
ISBN: 9781760580193
Publication Date: 2017
This book informs beekeepers of best practices so that their hard work results in a product of optimum quality. It also informs beekeepers of the threats to honey quality which can occur through poor handling skills or poor design of facilities. It includes references to legislation about food production, where relevant. It shows the way to document procedures so that they can be used as evidence of best practice.

 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Box Hill Institute Library guide to studying Horticulture. These resources support the courses that are currently taught at Box Hill Institute.  

PlantFile

PlantFile is a library database that currently features 3,640 species with over 5,200 cultivars that are accompanied with 14,000 photographs.  It allows you to sort, select and identify commonly used plants and print reports. It also covers common pests and diseases with their control methods.

 

Books

Cover Art
Botanical field guide - 5th ed. - Stefan Mager & Geoff Burrows.
Call Number: 571.32 MAG
ISBN: 9780977577149
Publication Date: 2011
The Botanical Field Guide offers, in symbol and keyword format, a substantial overview of the plant world. Use it to look for and to check details; to classify, to reference, to compare and to remember keywords for later research.

Cover Art
Flora of Melbourne: a guide to the indigenous plants of the greater Melbourne area - 5th ed. - Marilyn Bull
Call Number: 581.99451 BUL
ISBN: 9781864471229
Publication Date: 2014
The Flora of Melbourne provides an important record of the plant life that developed in the Greater Melbourne area over a long period of time. It indicates the probable distribution of plant communities and the species within them prior to European settlement, based on historical data, remnant vegetation, and the prevailing climatic and soil conditions of each area.

Cover Art
Growing Australian native plants from seed: for revegetation, tree planting and direct seeding - Murray Ralph.
Call Number: 631.5310994 RAL
ISBN: 9780646428666
Publication Date: 2009
Updated to incorporate recent research and other developments in seed propagation this book is a comprehensive guide on all aspects of growing native plants from seed for small and large-scale revegetation, tree planting or direct seeding projects.

Cover Art
Practical propagation - Sally Gregson
Call Number: 631.53 GRE
ISBN: 9781861269898
Publication Date: 2008
Perfect for amateur green-thumbs looking to make the most of their gardens, this is an insightful introduction to the basics of plant propagation. Fully illustrated instructions follow each step in the propagation process from greenhouse to garden, and special sections highlight how to properly sow seeds, take cuttings, graft shrubs and conifers, and divide herbaceous plants. Along with information on choosing and using the proper tools, tips are also provided for dealing with common pests and diseases.

Cover Art
The weed book: identifying and removing weeds and introduced species from your garden - 2nd ed. - Mark A. Wolff
Call Number: 632.5 WOL
ISBN: 9781877069932
Publication Date: 2011
Over the last 200 years Australia's natural environment has been dramatically reshaped by the introduction of exotic plants. In this updated and revised book, Mark Wolff sets out to help the home gardener to easily identify and understand some of our more common garden weeds.

Cover Art
Grasses of the NSW tablelands - Harry Rose [and others]
Call Number: 584.909944 ROS
ISBN: 9781742565507
Publication Date: 2013
An easy-to-use reference to the grasses of the NSW tablelands, including the methods of identifying species. It contains beautiful colour photographs for each species and notes on appearance and management. A great glovebox guide.

Cover Art
Indoor green: living with plants - Claffey; Bree; Lauren Bamford
Call Number: 635.965 CLA
ISBN: 9780500500538
Publication Date: 2015
For centuries, plants have transformed interiors. Today house plants are once again experiencing a revival. Author Bree Claffey of Mr Kitly journeys into the worlds of fellow plant lovers to explore the enduring attraction of house plants. From the ever-reliable Peace lily and beguiling Fiddle leaf fig to the elusive Chinese money plant, house plants are showcased in all their weird and wonderful forms.

Cover Art
Vegetation survey and assessment - Darren Bayley and David Brouwer.
Call Number: 333.953 BAY
ISBN: 9781742566702
Publication Date: 2014
This manual is a practical guide for surveying and assessing vegetation, including weeds, so it can be managed more effectively. It is also designed for assessing the condition and habitat value of vegetation.

Cover Art
Principles of ecology - David Brouwer
Call Number: 333.7616 BRO
ISBN: 9781742566849
Publication Date: 2014
This book is an outline of environmental or landcare themes. It aims to give you some basic tools of understanding before you get into more detailed studies of an area of land. In this book you will be introduced to some basic environmental terms and start to look carefully at a landscape you are working with.

Cover Art
Restoring natural areas in Australia - Robin A. Buchanan
Call Number: 639.9 BUC
ISBN: 9780731306213
Publication Date: 2009
A lavishly illustrated, full-colour publication, this book covers all aspects of natural area restoration projects. You'll learn how to assess vegetation, map and describe the resilience of remaining flora and fauna, the implications of climate change, and techniques for managing animal and plant pests.

Cover Art
Grasses of the NSW slopes and adjacent plains - Harry Rose [and others]
Call Number: 584.909944 ROS
ISBN: 9781742569475
Publication Date: 2016
An easy to use reference to the grasses of the slopes and adjacent plains of New South Wales, including the methods of identifying species. Beautiful colour photographs for each species. Notes on appearance and management.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Simon Stockdale
Contact Info
Simon Stockdale
Information Services Librarian
Elgar Campus Library
Location: E3.225
Ph: 9286 9279
Send Email
 

Plant Pests & Diseases

Cover Art
Hungry planet: stories of plant diseases - Gail L. Schumann; Cleora J. D'Arcy
Call Number: 571.92 SCH
ISBN: 9780890543993
Publication Date: 2012
This clearly written book is an ideal entry-level text for inquisitive college students who are majoring in a subject other than plant pathology, especially those in general education and core science classes.

Cover Art
Pests, diseases, ailments and allies of Australian plants - David L. Jones, W. Rodger Elliot and Sandra R. Jones
Call Number: 632 JON
ISBN: 9781877069970
Publication Date: 2015
This book is an authoritative reference on pests, diseases and nutritional disorders of Australian plants, with the authors being acknowledged experts in this field.

Cover Art
Pests of field crops and pastures - Peter Bailey (Editor)
Call Number: 632.70994 PES
ISBN: 9780643067585
Publication Date: 2007
A comprehensive handbook on economic entomolgy for field crops and pastures. It is organised by commodities such as cereals, sugar and tropical pasture legumes allowing all the arthropods on a particular commodity to be examined.

Cover Art
Integrated pest management for crops and pastures - Paul Horne; Jessica Page
Call Number: 632.9 HOR
ISBN: 9780643092570
Publication Date: 2008
This book describes in straightforward language what is required for farmers to successfully implement Integrated Pest Management (IPM) in cropping and grazing operations.

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip