This is the "Home" page of the "Veterinary Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Veterinary Nursing   Tags: animals, veterinary_nursing  

An introductory guide to resources for ACM40412 Certificate IV in Veterinary Nursing, ACM50512 Diploma of Veterinary Nursing (General Practice) and ACM50412 Diploma of Veterinary Nursing (Emergency and Critical Care).
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.bhtafe.edu.au/veterinarynursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Basics

Library Opening Hours and Locations

Renew your loans online by logging on to the catalogue:



 

Dictionaries

Cover Art
Dictionary of veterinary nursing - 4th ed. - Denis Richard Lane; Sue Guthrie; Sian Griffith
Call Number: 636.089 LAN
ISBN: 9780702066351
Publication Date: 2016
Covering all companion animals, equine, poultry and exotic patients this is the only dictionary written specifically for veterinary nurses that covers all aspects of the veterinary nursing curriculum.

Cover Art
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary - 4th ed. - Virginia P. Studdert; Clive C. Gay; Douglas C. Blood
Call Number: 636.08903 STU
ISBN: 9780702047435
Publication Date: 2012
Includes over 60,000 main and subentries including large animals, small animals and exotics.

 

Welcome!

This subject guide will provide you with starting points for locating resources on Veterinary Nursing. This information supports the courses that are currently taught at Box Hill Institute.

Staff and students at Box Hill Institute are welcome to contact me about any aspect of the library services and resources. I am based at the Elgar Campus Library so feel free to drop by, call or email.

 

New Books

Cover Art
Elsevier's veterinary assisting textbook - 2nd ed. - Margi Sirois
Call Number: 636.089 SIR
ISBN: 9780323359221
Publication Date: 2017
This book provides a comprehensive overview of all the skills you need to begin a career as a veterinary assistant. NAVTA-approved guidelines help in learning to assist in laboratory and radiographic procedures, properly restraining animals, setting up equipment and supplies, cleaning and maintaining practice facilities, feeding and exercising patients, collecting samples, handling and dispensing medications, grooming patients, and record keeping.

Cover Art
Aspinall's complete textbook of veterinary nursing - 3rd ed. - Nicola Ackerman; Victoria Aspinall
Call Number: 636.089073 ASP
ISBN: 9780702066023
Publication Date: 2016
This book has established itself as a recommended standard text for all veterinary nurses. It is designed both to satisfy the requirements of the syllabus studied by all student veterinary nurses and to provide a wide range of information for qualified nurses working in veterinary practice

Cover Art
So you want to be a vet? : a guide for current and prospective students in Australia and New Zealand - Eric Allan
Call Number: 636.089023 ALL
ISBN: 9781742861524
Publication Date: 2013
This book discusses the life of veterinary students and of new graduates and explores some of the challenges you may face plus many strategies to help you to cope. These topics include maintaining a work/life balance, funding and employment through the course, coping with stress, workloads, time management and the very significant extramural requirements. The book also covers career options and employment prospects, alternatives to veterinary science, anticipated remuneration levels and challenges for the future.

Cover Art
Front office management for the veterinary team - 2nd ed. - Heather Prendergast
Call Number: 636.089068 PRE
ISBN: 9780323261852
Publication Date: 2015
A complete guide to veterinary office management, Front Office Management for the Veterinary Team, 2nd Edition focuses on the day-to-day front office skills you need to become a valuable member of the veterinary team.

Cover Art
Small animal emergency and critical care for veterinary technicians - 3rd ed. - Andrea M. Battaglia; Andrea M. Steele
Call Number: 636.089602 SMA
ISBN: 9780323227742
Publication Date: 2016
This book provides quick access to dozens of common, life-saving protocols and procedures. Each treatment technique is described in step-by-step detail and illustrated in full color. To prepare you for the veterinary practice setting, a team approach is emphasized.

Cover Art
Essential calculations for veterinary nurses and technicians - 3rd ed. - Terry Lake; Nicola Green
Call Number: 636.08951 LAK
ISBN: 9780702068072
Publication Date: 2017
From basic arithmetic to dilutions and statistics, this useful text covers all aspects of calculations as applied to veterinary nursing. Readers will benefit from the text’s common sense approach to clinical situations, and complete the book knowing how to use calculations to determine dosage rates, anesthetic flow rates, radiography exposure rates, parenteral nutrition, and more.

Cover Art
Animal restraint for veterinary professionals - 2nd ed. - C. C. Sheldon; Teresa F. Sonsthagen; James Topel
Call Number: 636.083 SHE
ISBN: 9780323354943
Publication Date: 2017
This book describes each procedure with two to eight photos showing the exact steps needed to achieve safe restraint. A chapter is devoted to each domestic animal species, including cats, dogs, cattle, horses, sheep, goats, pigs, rabbits, rodents, ferrets, and birds.

Cover Art
An illustrated guide to veterinary medical terminology - 4th ed. - Janet Amundson Romich
Call Number: 636.089014 ROM
ISBN: 9781133125761
Publication Date: 2015
Focusing on how medical terms are formed, analyzed, and defined, the text discusses anatomical landmarks, the positioning of animals, and the relationships between body parts. It also introduces terms used in the animal industry.

Cover Art
BSAVA manual of canine practice: a foundation manual - Tim Hutchinson; Kenneth R. Robinson
Call Number: 636.7089 BSA
ISBN: 9781905319480
Publication Date: 2015
Authored by veterinarians with many years' experience in general practice, the 'BSAVA manual of canine practice' provides the first port of call for the busy small animal practitioner faced with uncertainty over a new case. The development over the last 20 years of a range of formal specialist veterinary qualifications has produced a significant surge in the range and depth of knowledge in canine practice.

Cover Art
Blackwell's five-minute veterinary consult: canine and feline - 6th ed. - edited by Larry Patrick Tilley, Francis W.K. Smith, Jr.
Call Number: 636.70896 BLA
ISBN: 9781118881576
Publication Date: 2016
Making it easy for you to find information hen and where you need it, the book provides essential details on 846 diseases and conditions, with topics arranged alphabetically for quick searching. 379 top specialists have drawn on their expertise to deliver authoritative advice on managing conditions ranging from commonplace to rare.

Cover Art
BSAVA manual of canine and feline radiography and radiology: a foundation manual - Fraser McConnell; Andrew Holloway
Call Number: 636.0896 BSA
ISBN: 9781905319442
Publication Date: 2013
Confident radiographic interpretation presents a considerable challenge and this text provides a comprehensive review of the approach to radiological interpretation, the range of variants and the key fundamental principles and their application to common diseases. This Foundation Manual replaces the classic BSAVA Manual of Small Animal Diagnostic Imaging as an introduction for veterinary students, nurses and new graduates.

Cover Art
Handbook of radiographic positioning for veterinary technicians - - Margi Sirois; Elaine Anthony
Call Number: 636.089 SIR
ISBN: 9781435426030
Publication Date: 2010
The Handbook of Radiographic Positioning for Veterinary Technicians is a clear concise reference demonstrating correct patient positioning for routine radiographic studies of canine, feline, and exotic animal patients. Photographs of patients in proper position, completed radiographs, and overlay of anatomical features are included.

Cover Art
Clinical procedures in veterinary nursing - 3rd ed. - Victoria Aspinall
Call Number: 636.089073 CLI
ISBN: 9780702051104
Publication Date: 2014
All the principal nursing procedures likely to be performed are presented in this title, linking the action with the underlying rationale and illustrations. New material includes coverage of minor surgical procedures while recent changes in the veterinary nursing syllabus are reflected in sections on the horse.

Cover Art
Ethics, law, and the veterinary nurse - Sophie Pullen; Carol Gray
Call Number: 179.3 ETH
ISBN: 9780750688444
Publication Date: 2006
The importance for individuals to have an awareness of the law as it relates to them professionally has never been more important for veterinary nursing than it is now. With moves in place to regulate veterinary nursing, issues of accountability will arise that will impact on every veterinary nurse in practice. It will be essential for every nurse to be fully informed about the law and their professional obligations.

Cover Art
Clinical anatomy and physiology for veterinary technicians - 3rd ed. - Thomas P. Colville; Joanna M. Bassert
Call Number: 636.0891 COL
ISBN: 9780323227933
Publication Date: 2015
Start your veterinary technician education off on the right foot with this text. Combining expert clinical coverage with engaging writing and vivid illustrations, this popular text is the key to helping you understand the anatomic and physiologic principles that will carry you throughout your career.

Cover Art
Introduction to veterinary anatomy and physiology textbook - 3rd ed. - Victoria Aspinall; Melanie Cappello
Call Number: 636.0891 ASP
ISBN: 9780702057359
Publication Date: 2015
A sound knowledge of anatomy and physiology is an essential basis for the effective clinical treatment of companion animals. This edition offers clear and comprehensive of the common companion animal species. Updated throughout with a new section added on large animals, the new edition features augmented online learning resources with new questions and quizzes.

Cover Art
Practical veterinary diagnostic imaging - 2nd ed. - Suzanne Easton
Call Number: 636.089 EAS
ISBN: 9780470656488
Publication Date: 2012
Practical Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging is an essential and practical guide to the various diagnostic imaging modalities that are used in veterinary practice. It moves from basic mathematic and physical principles through to discussion of equipment and practical methods. Radiographic techniques for both small and large animals are covered. There is a separate chapter devoted to ultrasound, as well as discussion of advanced imaging techniques such as fluoroscopy, computerised tomography and magnetic resonance imaging.

Cover Art
Atlas of normal radiographic anatomy & anatomic variants in the dog and cat - 2nd ed. - Donald E. Thrall; Ian D. Robertson
ISBN: 9780323312257
Publication Date: 2016
Equip yourself to make accurate diagnoses and achieve successful treatment outcomes with this highly visual comprehensive atlas. Featuring a substantial number of new high contrast images, this text provides an in-depth look at both normal and non-standard subjects along with demonstrations of proper technique and image interpretations

Cover Art
Practical physiotherapy for veterinary nurses - Donna Carver
Call Number: 636.089582 CAR
ISBN: 9781118711361
Publication Date: 2016
Reflecting a rapidly growing area of interest in veterinary practice, this practical, pocket-sized guide to small animal physiotherapy has been designed for quick reference, providing the ideal guide for busy practice veterinary nurses when they really need it.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Simon Stockdale
Contact Info
Simon Stockdale
Information Services Librarian
Elgar Campus Library
Location: E3.225
Ph: 9286 9279
Send Email
 

Medical News Today

Loading Loading...
blank padding
© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip