Home - Fashion - textiles, fibres and fabrics - LibGuides at Box Hill Institute

Using the library

Books on fabrics and textiles are located at the Nelson campus library.

Browse the shelves at call number 746

Browse the library catalogue using search terms

fabric, fabrics, textile, textiles, textile design, knitting, crochet, weaving, screen printing, surface design, dressmaking materials

Search for individual fibres and fabrics— polymers, cotton, wool, silk etc

Search for new textiles— textile* AND innovation, textile* AND technology, smart textiles

“Fiber” and “fibre” are alternate spellings of the same word, referring to a thread of filament from which a textile is formed.

Full text journals

The following magazines are accessible via library databases. Click on the link.

Textile: The Journal of Cloth & Culture
Brings together research in textiles in an innovative forum & is for anyone interested in textiles.
WWD: Women's Wear Daily
Covers business issues, fashion trends, retailing developments, international ready-to-wear, couture presentations & market overviews. For retailers & manufacturers of women's apparel, accessories, fibers & textiles

Fabrics

These books contain fabric swatches

Swatch Reference Guide for Fashion Fabrics by Deborah E. Young
Call Number: 746.92 YOU
ISBN: 9781501328565
Publication Date: 2018
This book contains swatches
Fabric for Fashion by Clive Hallett; Amanda Johnston
Call Number: 746.92 HAL
ISBN: 9781780672335
Publication Date: 2014
This book contains swatches.

Recommended fabric books

Textilepedia : the complete fabric guide
ISBN: 9789887711094
Publication Date: 2021
Textilepedia is an extensive textile dictionary that covers all essential fabric knowledge - from deciphering different types of materials to understanding your finishing options. A balance between text and imagery; it acts as a quick easy-to-navigate guide - simplifying complicated fabric and fiber information using comparisons and relatable stories." --publisher website.
The Fashion Swatch Book by Marnie Fogg
Call Number: 746 FOG
ISBN: 9780500291337
Publication Date: 2014
Fabric for Fashion : The Complete Guide Second Edition by Hallett, Clive.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781529419962
Publication Date: 2022
Fabric for Fashion - The Complete Guide by Clive Hallett; Amanda Johnston
Call Number: 746.92 HAL
ISBN: 9781780673349
Publication Date: 2014
Fabric Reference by Mary Humphries
Call Number: 646.11 HUM
ISBN: 9780131588226
Publication Date: 2009
The Mood Guide to Fabric and Fashion by Mood Designer Mood Designer Fabrics
Call Number: 746 MOO
ISBN: 9781617690884
Publication Date: 2015
Fabric Glossary by Mary Humphries
Call Number: 646.11014 HUM
ISBN: 9780135005972
Publication Date: 2009
The Golden Thead:How fabric changed history by Kassia St Clair
Call Number: 746 SAI
ISBN: 9781473659056
Publication Date: 2018
Nuno by Reiko Sudo
ISBN: 9780500022689
Publication Date: 2021
Named with a simple word meaning 'cloth', NUNO is one of Japan's most important textile-design companies. Founded in 1984 by the legendary Junichi Arai and the company's current director, Reiko Sudo, it is recognized as one of the world's most innovative textile producers. Known for weaving together tradition and cutting-edge technology, NUNO designers are inspired by the past, present and future, integrating unexpected elements, such as paper or feathers or aluminium, with industrial methods, such as spatter-plating and chemical etching.

Fashion - textiles, fibres and fabrics: Home

Using the library

Full text journals

Fabrics