Biosecurity Science: Plants

A glossary of over 4000 terms related to plant sciences, featuring colour illustrations to aid comprehension of many of the plant terms.

The Botanical Field Guide offers, in symbol and keyword format, a substantial overview of the plant world. Use it to look for and to check details; to classify, to reference, to compare and to remember keywords for later research.

Featuring approximately 600 species from all parts of the country, this is a handy reference for identifying Australian wildflowers, fully updated and revised.

A guide to Australia's trees, fully updated and revised. It features more than 325 species from all parts of the continent.

This comprehensive guide is packed with information on more than 300 commonly observed species from rainforests around the continent.

Written by a group of experts, this book is comprised of 11 chapters describing the uniqueness of plant structure, growth and development, photosynthesis and respiration, and growth regulation in woody species.

This book introduces the reader to the arrangement of flowers on plants, reproduction, plant structure and function, and the way plants are grouped.

This book provides an overview of the fundamentals of botany.

Provides a contemporary understanding of the topic by focusing on some of humankind's fundamental biological, agricultural and environmental challenges.

Fiona McMillan-Webster tells the astonishing story of seed longevity, the crucial role they play in our everyday lives, and what that might mean for our future.

Follow the development of fungi from spore germination through to maturity and reproduction, all in 3D.

More than two decades were spent in writing and producing Hortus Third.

A visual reference to 500 of the best Australian plants you can use in your garden.

"Food Plants of the World" is a comprehensive overview of the plants that provide us with food, beverages, spices and flavours.

From the time of the European settlers arrived we have surrounded our homes and cities with water-thirsty exotics, replacing the original landscapes.

This 2019 offering from Vault Editions is a brilliantly curated resource of copyright free vintage botanical illustrations.

For those seeking to understand Australia’s plant biosecurity system.

Summarises and tracks PHA’s achievements from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023.

The National Plant Biosecurity Surveillance Strategy provides a framework to strengthen Australia’s plant health surveillance system. It is one of several strategies that supports the broader national biosecurity system.

This new fourth edition has been completely revised and updated, covering all aspects in the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences.

This is an invaluable guide to the use of scientific, commercial and common names for plants and the conventions for writing them. Written by horticultural botanists at the Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria.

Plant Pathology explores the topic of plant pathology and aligns classic studies and knowledge in the topic with the current state of research, in an accessible format.

This fifth edition of the classic textbook in plant pathology outlines how to recognize, treat, and prevent plant diseases.

This book depicts the historical events, discoveries and advancement made in the plant pathology from ancient times to the present day, arranged by era. This is helpful in understanding the developments made in the subject as well as the scope for further development and advancement.

Provides a comprehensive introduction to the pollination ecology, evolution and conservation of Australian rainforest plants.

The inner workings of the plants you love are revealed and celebrated in this guide by botany expert Dr. Scott Zona.

This book not only provides a comprehensive coverage of plant structure, but also introduces aspects of the mechanisms of development.

The first authoritative reference book on both the theoretical and practical aspects of growing plants without the use of soil.

This book attempts to assimilate a relatively new subject that helps us understand the very phenomenon of life that persists in the planet's environment and depends on a specific set of operating environmental factors.

This book, Advances in Plant Pathology, attempts to investigate advances in viral, fungal, bacterial, and other diagnostic molecular approaches in various plants.

Could plants be intelligent? Could it be true that they talk to each other, assist and defend each other, etc.? What is the scientific truth behind this idea of plant intelligence? Tackling the issue of intelligence in any organism requires us to study and theorize its behavior.

This collective scientific assessment looks at crop protection strategies based on plant diversification in agricultural areas and analyses the obstacles and levers to their adoption by farmers.

This book covers the fundamentals of arbuscular mycorrhizal fungi (AMF) and higher plant symbiosis with potential implications in crop production.

An overview of recent systematic advances in plant science research in China, particularly within forestry research.

In this updated and revised book, Mark Wolff sets out to help the home gardener to easily identify and understand some of our more common garden weeds.

A comprehensive identification guide to 189 common weeds in the urban environment, explaining their families and characteristics, with strategies for managing their presence in the garden and fields.

This book presents the most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to the current and potential future state of weed science and research.

Placing weed management in the largest context of weed research and science, the book presents the latest advances in the role, control and potential uses of weed plants.

A comprehensive identification guide for weeds in the south-east region of Australia.

This book is for people interested in managing weeds in the landscape, either for the protection of our natural resources and biodiversity, or for the protection of agricultural production and productivity.

Non-Chemical Weed Control is the first book to present an overview of plant crop protection against non-food plants using non-chemical means.

The book provides comprehensive information on a wide range of topics from biology, physiology, genetics to the use of genomic tools in weed science.

The main focus of research to date on parasitic weeds has been on their biology and management when infecting important crops

This book is divided into four parts, covering viral and fungal disease detection and management, nematode diseases and management, bio-control, and biotechnological approaches and impact of climate change.