Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19: To find out how the pandemic is impacting library services, please visit the Library website.
Box Hill Institute acknowledges that all of our learning sites are situated on the ancestral lands of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nations and pay respects to the traditional custodians and their elders past, present and emerging.
To get you started, here are a few resources for all graduates of Box Hill Institute:
Be careful searching for resources via freely available search engines. While there is a lot of quality information available, other content is biased, out of date or just plain wrong. There are also so many results that it is difficult to sift through for the best ones.
This guide will direct you to some quality, freely available online materials. You can also check out our Research Skills Libguide for help with evaluating other resources.
TROVE is a great resource provided by the National Library of Australia.
Search TROVE for details of physical resources held in libraries across Australia. You can also access a range of online resources including photos, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.
No membership is required.
Public libraries are great information sources. Visit your local library to borrow physical resources, or access online resources from home. Your local library may also offer free training sessions, access to new technologies such as 3D printers, and more.
Click here to find your local public library.
All Australian residents are eligible to join National Library of Australia. This provides access to a range of online resources, including databases from EBSCO, Gale and Informit. (Note that some databases may exclude commercial uses)
Victorian residents can join the State Library of Victoria. Membership provides access to online databases, eBooks, eJournals and more. (Note that some resources may prohibit use for commercial purposes)
Key online resources
Quality open education resources including textbooks, courses, interactive activities and more.
Research publications from around the world. Full text download is available for some publications. For others, you can request access from the authors.
Directory of Open Access Books
More than 13,000 academic books and chapters
Full text access for some titles, and bibliographic information only for others
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Access millions of digital books, journals, government documents, and other volumes. Content is primarily from the collections of US academic libraries
© 2021 Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J