LibGuides: Open access resources: Open Access books and journals

OPEN ACCESS RESOURCES

Open Access items are readily available and free for use.

Open access resources are not always copyright free. Whilst anyone can access an open access resource, what you can actually do with the resource is determined by its copyright status. If a resource is in the public domain (copyright has expired), or has been made available under a Creative Commons licence, it can be re-used under the conditions defined on the licence.

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/

OPEN ACCESS BOOKS, JOURNALS

AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Research full text legislation, court reports, case law and archives of government publications for all Australian states and territories. Also includes international legislation, court decisions and treaties.
DOAB : Directory of open access books
58,996 academic peer-reviewed books.
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
DOAJ : Directory of open access journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
ERIC : Education Resources Information Centre
ERIC indexes a wide variety of journal sources.
Subject areas include Adult, Career, and Vocational Education, assessment and Evaluation, Elementary and Early Childhood Education Information and Technology Languages and Linguistics Reading, English, and Communication Science, Mathematics, and Environmental Education, Social Studies and Social Science Education, Teaching and Teacher Education
IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library
classical sheet music scanned from out of copyright sources. Scores can be downloaded as PDF. 204,511 works · 25,537 composers · 1,583 performers
668,302 scores · 12,796,577+ pages · 74,775 recordings
Internet archive
The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 2.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
Contains a wide range of fiction, children's literature, historical & academic texts
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
You can search JSTOR for free - you can access further content via the State Library of Victoria. A SLV membership is free, join online.
open textbook library
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Subject areas include business, computer science, education and humanities
Pressbooks
This directory provides an index of 3,846 books published across 133 Pressbooks networks. Includes some Australian university titles.
Project Gutenberg Australia
Download free ebooks in the public domain in Australia. Includes classics, fiction and nonfiction.
TROVE
Search for digital copies of newspapers, Government Gazettes, maps, magazines and newsletters. Or books, pictures, photographs, archived websites, music and interviews. Even information about famous Australians, including copies of letters, diaries and personal archives.