Skip to main content
site header image

Nursing: Databases & magazines

Databases

AusDI

Drug information.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)

Nursing & allied health journals

Health Collection (Informit)

Health Collection

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database

Evidence based practice database for nursing and healthcare students.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)

MEDLINE

Nursing Reference Center (EBSCOhost)

Nursing Reference Center

ProQuest Biological Science Collection

"The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents." - website

PubMed

Medical, life science and biomedical index.

ScienceDirect - Health & Life Sciences

Covers Health & Nursing professions; Agriculture & Biological Sciences; Immunology & Microbiology; Medicine & Mental Health; Environmental Sciences; Pharmacology; Pharmaceutical Science; Food Sciences; Biochemistry; Genetics & Molecular Biology; Neuroscience; and Veterinary Science & Medicine.

Databases

Databases are collections of materials gathered to meet the needs of staff and students. They contain periodical articles from Australia and around the world for a wide variety of subjects. Box Hill Institute Library also has databases of on-line books, Australian Standards, and more.

You can search databases as you would the Internet but they generally provide more reliable and specialised information.

A full list of the databases that Box Hill Institute subscribes to can be found on the Library pages on StudentWeb under Databases

You are also able to search for journal articles using Discovery. Select Full Text to enable you to access journal articles

Some Journals of Interest

Australian Health review (Informit Health Collection)

Australian Journal of Primary Health (Informit Health Collection)

Australian Nurses Journal (Ebsco CINAHL)

Australasia Journal of Advanced Nursing (Informit Health Collection)

BMC Health Services Research (Ebsco Academic Search Premier)

Contemporary Nurse: a journal for the Australian Nurasing Profession (Ebsco CINAHL)

Harvard Health Publications (Ebsco CINAHL)

International Journal of Nursing Practice (Ebsco CINAHL)

Nurses' Paycheck (Informit Health Collection)

Practice Nurse (Ebsco CINAHL)

Referencing your work

Most assignments require you to list the resources you have used for researching a topic and every item used, regardless of format, must be acknowledged. Several referencing styles are used at Box Hill Institute.  It is best to ask your teacher or teaching centre which style they prefer.

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J