Hospitality Management : eBooks

Hospitality is an industry characterised by its complex nature and numerous sectors including hotels, hostels, B&Bs, restaurants, pubs, nightclubs and contract catering.

This book brings together a collection of leading researchers and writers in hospitality, sociology, philosophy and social history, providing a global perspective on hospitality.

This introductory text provides students with fundamental techniques and tools to analyse and improve operational capabilities of any hospitality organization. This book spans a breadth of topics critical to today's operations leaders.

This book introduces students to fundamental strategic management principles in a Tourism, Hospitality and Events context.

This book gives you the industry know-how and the management skills needed to thrive in all aspects of the field, from food service to lodging to tourism.

This book gives you the foundation to thrive in today's hospitality industry, covering everything from finance to operational issues.

By placing you at the heart of an imaginary workplace this book offers the opportunity to work through all of the items of discussion for each topic.

This book highlights the key issues that will be encountered within every sector of the industry - operations, IT, marketing and HR among others - thereby providing the reader with an comparative overview of the field.

This book provides a reference for students interested in understanding applications of IT for tourism and hospitality management.

This textbook is an introduction to the tourism and hospitality industry in British Columbia.

Based on methodology developed at Cranfield School of Management, The Business Plan Workbook takes a practical approach to topic of business planning for new venture creation and development.

Teams are critical to the success of every organization. Departmental, interdepartmental, cross-functional, ad hoc, task-specific—teams do everything from planning the office party to setting the annual budget to establishing performance goals.

Continuous improvement, understanding complex systems, and promoting innovation are all part of the landscape of learning challenges today's companies face.

This book provides a customisable appraisal template covering the essential areas of performance and conduct and reveals how you can adapt it to fit varying business strategies.

This book covers the essential KPIs that are useful to all kinds of businesses, and includes more than 100 different ways leaders can monitor and drive performance in their organisations.

Divided into three parts, the book looks in detail firstly at the practical side of report writing: * Preparation and planning * Collecting and handling information * Writing and revising

Study Skills for Foundation Degrees offers a step-by-step guide to the skills needed to successfully complete a Foundation Degree.

This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability.

This book takes the art of analysis and breaks it down into easy-to-understand blocks, with clear explanations, good examples, and plenty of activities.

Discover how to excel at: Note-taking, speed-reading and essay-writing, improving your memory, critical thinking and analysis, using the internet to supplement study, and exam skills.

A guidebook to those students interested in improving their study life and their study skills. This guidance is made to include time management, listening to lectures, reading, learning and retention, library use, essay-writing, and preparing for tests.

This book delivers contributions to theory and empirical research by clarifying and proposing the influences of strategic planning on the performance.

Rooted in strategic management research, Business Model Innovation explores the concepts, tools, and techniques that enable organizations to gain and/or maintain a competitive advantage in the face of technological innovation.

This book offers a guide to the process of creating and managing an organisation (no matter how complex) that will be positioned to respond effectively and rapidly to customer demands.

Revealing and explaining the latest techniques used by companies worldwide, author Jean-Noël Kapferer covers all the leading issues faced by the brand strategist today, supported by an array of international case studies.

This book explains the most common business model patterns.

Shows how to avoid such issues via careful consideration of what an enterprise really needs.

With so many surveys reporting that employees are unhappy and not working up to their full potential, engagement is a second serious and costly issue.

Body Language at Work is your quick course in interpreting office place body language.

Think and Grow Rich is one of the best motivational and inspirational classics for people who want to reach their goal of financial independence. It has sold more than 30 million copies to date.

The essential book every workplace novice needs--a smart, practical, and fun guide to help them navigate the minefield of personalities, learn to work with their boss, identify priorities, and ultimately kick butt at their first job.

This book explores deep into the strategies for creating and growing profitable online enterprises, drawing on the knowledge of recognized industry leaders and astute digital entrepreneurs.

Divided into 4 sections: (i) Digital Business Transformation, (ii) Cloud Computing, (iii) IOT & Mobility, & (iv) Information Management & Social Media.

This book offers a very comprehensive analysis of concepts, models and infrastructures of e-business. It also presents unique observations of current e-business practices for different organizations in different economies.

This open access book describes this new world as 'Society 5.0' and explores the real impact of AI-enabled business on society.

This open access book provides an overview of the current state of financial argument mining and financial text generation, and presents the authors’ thoughts on the blueprint for NLP in finance in the agent AI era.

This open access book investigates how digitalization and service infusion are changing service provision and the customer experience.

Updated and revised to take account of current trends.

After the first chapter introducing the foodservice industry, there are nine chapters on operations and seven chapters on management.

This book is an introduction to the management of food and beverage operations within a luxury hotel environment. It provides detailed coverage of operational areas within the food and beverage department.

This textbook provides a thorough guide to the management of food and beverage outlets.

Covers contemporary trends and issues in food and beverage service and offers broad and in-depth coverage of key concepts, skills and knowledge.

Running a Restaurant For Dummies covers every aspect of getting started for aspiring restaurateurs.

The Theory of Hospitality and Catering is an essential text for anyone training to work in the hospitality industry.

A guide to opening a restaurant of other food business that focuses on writing a business plan, discussing statement or purpose, marketing, competition, financial data, licenses, and other related topics.

With a real-world, hands-on approach, the book places students in the role of a revenue manager striving to succeed in an ever-changing hospitality business environment.

This book highlights the origins of hotel reservations systems and revenue management, challenges unique to hotels, revenue management models, new generation retailing, and personalization.

This book is authored by a range of academics and practitioners all currently engaged in revenue management practice.

This research monograph aims at developing an integrative framework of hotel revenue management.

This is a pragmatic, hands-on, up-to-date guide to determining right and wrong in the business world.

Unconventionally, this book argues that business ethics are basic to running business not a separate subject.

Provides an introduction to some of the major challenges facing anyone concerned with standards of behavior in organisations.

This book is a comprehensive study that deals with the subject of collaboration with suppliers, considering the CSR guidelines.

This textbook applies economic ethics to evaluate the free market system and enables students to examine the impact of free markets using the three main ethical approaches: utilitarianism, principle-based ethics and virtue ethics.

This volume explores various aspects of risk taking. It offers an analysis of financial, entrepreneurial and social risks, as well as a discussion of the ethical implications of empirical findings.

The book tracks the rise of Business Ethics as a discipline in the United States through a review of the basic understandings of the role of business practices in the operations of society.

This book highlights such concepts as conscience, corporate responsibility, corporations as agents and as recipients, stockholders, stakeholders, comprehensive moral thinking, and ethics education.

A resource for practicing higher purpose, stakeholder orientation, conscious culture, and conscious leadership.

Explains how business organizations attempt to achieve the responsible and ethical use of artificial intelligence (AI) and other advanced technologies.

Governance and Business Models for Sustainable Capitalism brings attention to a recurrent tension between efficiency, innovation, and productivity on the one hand, and fairness, equity, and sustainability on the other.

This report finds that the cost of risk management failures is often underestimated, both externally and internally.

The book showcases what kind of practical and ethical wisdom is embedded in business jokes and how this knowledge can be made productive in the context of business ethics.

Embodying a rights-holder orientation, The Routledge Handbook on Meaningful Stakeholder Engagement emphasizes the importance of MSE for stakeholders who are or can be affected by activities driven by external actors.

Design Thinking (DT) is popular in corporate innovation and start-ups alike for helping people to craft fresh, new solutions to today's challenges and develop underlying skills in high demand in tomorrow's economy.

The second in the New Product Development Essentials series, this book shows you how to bridge the gap between the strategic importance of design and the tactical approach of design thinking.

Designed to address practitioners' current and future needs and to help them be more proactive, innovative and nimble in enabling desired project outcomes.

'Project Management Best Practices' focuses on such companies as Computer Associates, Symcor, and Satyam.

Revised throughout to match the details and requirements of the 2009 PRINCE2 manual and simplified to make it more useful for those who are new to the method, PRINCE2 Revealed, second edition, is the perfect first reference.

This step-by-step guide: Explains the principles of PRINCE2 in straightforward, manageable chunks; Emphasises how to apply PRINCE2 in practice, using real-life examples; Is written by an experienced PRINCE2 practitioner and trainer.

Written by an experienced practitioner and trainer, this step-by-step guide breaks down the PRINCE2 methodology into bite-size chunks, giving clear explanations and practical illustrations in each section.

Covering the major project management techniques including Traditional, Agile, and Extreme, this book lays out a comprehensive overview of all of the best-of-breed project management approaches and tools today.

The authors examine how service providers have embraced new technologies and used these to create global brands within the public sector, offering an insight into the tricks and tools of the trade.

This book explains how to use the right words to turn volatile scenarios into calm and productive customer encounters. Readers will discover: • The power of leaning into criticism • Trigger phrases that can make bad situations worse • The secret to helping people feel deeply heard in a crisis.

Rather than offering another set of tactics for improving customer service, this book takes a novel approach by rooting out the real reasons employees aren’t delivering the service they should. The results can be both surprising and illuminating.

Customers are speaking loud and clear through a miriad of Customers are speaking loud and clear through a miriad of mediums.

This book reveals inside secrets of wildly successful customer service initiatives, from Internet start-ups to venerable brands.

This book explains how to create a culture of empowered employees who understand the value of a great customer experience and advises on the need to communicate that experience to their customers and potential customers.