LibGuides: Early Childhood: Online journals and weblinks

Keeping current - access industry journals

ONLINE

The IRECE Journal

The journal of International Research in Early Childhood Education (IRECE) is an electronic peer-reviewed journal designed to provide an international forum for scholarship and research within the field of early childhood education. Published in Melbourne Australia, it aims to provide a forum for debate in Asia, Latin America, the Middle East and Africa, as well as the regular sources of scholarship in both Western and Eastern Europe, New Zealand, and North America.

http://www.monash.edu/education/research/publications/journals/irece

Preschool Matters

Preschool Matters is a quarterly magazine produced by Early Learning Association Australia.

Preschool Matters covers issues of importance to the early learning sector in Australia, with details on upcoming events, resources, case studies and stories of interest to both our members and the wider community.

https://elaa.org.au/media-news/preschool-matters-magazine/

LIBRARY DATABASES

The following journals can be accessed via the library databases. As well as searching databases you can read these journals by current editions. Click on the title to access the journal. Some have a 12 month publisher embargo.

Asia-Pacific Journal of Research in Early Childhood Education

Serves as a vehicle for reporting and sharing the results of studies by early childhood education in the Pacific area.

Australasian Journal of Early Childhood

Early Childhood Education; Australia; Child Care (full text to 2018, abstracts & citation details for current issues)

Childcare in practice

Concerned with all disciplines relating to children's services, from social care to health care, medicine to psychology, education, the police and probationary services, to solicitors and barristers.

Child Development

Articles of interdisciplinary empirical research, theoretical articles and reviews that have theoretical implications for child developmental research selected through blind review.

Early Childhood Education Journal

Publishes articles on curriculum, child care programs, administration, staff development, family-school relationships, equity issues, multicultural units, health nutrition, facilities, special needs, employer-sponsored care, and infant/toddler programs.

Early Education & Development

Presents empirical research in early childhood education and child development, with emphasis on practical implications for practitioners.

Educating Young Children: Learning & Teaching in the Early Childhood Years

Covers topics relating to educational research, curriculum trends, developmental theories, etc.(AUST).

European Early Childhood Education Research Journal

Early Childhood Education; Europe

Every Child

Early Childhood Australia Inc

Exchange

Provides management and program ideas for leaders in early childhood programs.

Infant & Child Development

Publishes theoretical, empirical and methodological papers covering all aspects of psychological development during infancy and early childhood.

International Journal of Early Years Education

Offers a perspective on research & major new initiatives in the care & education of young children.

International Journal of Early Childhood Learning

Early Childhood Education

International Journal of Early Childhood Special Education

An online, open-access, peer-reviewed journal offering scholarly articles on various issues of young children with special needs (age 0-8) and their families.

Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education

Early Childhood Education; Teacher Education

Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development

Major reports of developmental research that generate authoritative new findings, fresh perspectives on conceptually significant issues, controversy and commentary on all aspects of child development for professionals in the field.

Research & Practice for Persons with Severe Disabilities

Topics include facilitated communication, inclusion, supported living, supported employment, issues of early childhood, self-advocacy, positive behavioral practices, disability rights, & issues of concern to families.

Topics in Early Childhood Special Education

Articles, review articles, commentary and book reviews that focus on different aspects of early childhood special education. Topics include staff development, technical assistance, intervention programs, research and practice in early intervention.

Voices of Practitioners: Teacher Research in Early Childhood Education

Includes informative articles, resources and tools to promote the participation of early childhood teachers in teacher research.

Web links

Early Childhood Australia
ECA is Australia's peak childhood advocacy organisation. Publishers of Every Child (EC) magazine (a trade journal) and the Australasian Journal of Early Childhood (AJEC) (a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal).
Arc Learning - Early Childhood
Arc Learning is a Victorian Government portal, a repository, a search engine, a workspace and a way of sharing content. "Arc Learning helping you equip your students with the knowledge, skills and capabilities."
they need to flourish in today's world.
The Department of Education and Training
The Department of Education and Training is responsible for national policies and programs that help Australians access quality and affordable early child care and childhood education, school education, higher education, vocational education and training, international education and research.
Narragunnawali: Reconciliation in Schools and Early Learning
Narragunnawali supports all schools and early learning services in Australia to develop environments that foster a higher level of knowledge and pride in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories, cultures and contributions.
SNAICC – National Voice for Our Children
Secretariat of National Aboriginal and Islander Child Care The national non government peak body
in Australia representing the interests of Aboriginal
and Torres Strait Islander children.

The conversation.

Analysis, commentary and research news directly from The Conversation.

A snapshot of 40 years in early childhood education and care through oral histories.

A snapshot of 40 years in early childhood education and care through oral histories.
The year 2012 marked 40 years since the introduction of the Child Care Act 1972 and the federal government introduced financial support for the provision of childcare services in Australia. Significant changes have occurred in social, political and theoretical contexts of early childhood education and care (ECEC) during this time. Bringing these to life, this paper investigates archival data of key changes in ECEC in association with oral histories of staff, parents and children associated with The Gowrie Qld during the years 1972-2012. With narrative analysis considered alongside historical information, two dominant issues emerge as integral to ECEC in the past, now and the future. These are: 1) what constitutes effective teaching and learning in the educational program; and 2) professional expectations in ECEC. Building an historical picture, this paper provides for critical reflection on the past to inform current and future practices. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]