Guide for new users of the library

The library catalogue is Discovery

Use the catalogue to search simultaneously for books in the library, search across multiple databases, ebook collections, and journal databases.

 Discovery will link you to full text resources, ebooks and streaming videos.

There are different ways to search for a book using the Discovery catalogue

• the title of the book
• the name of the author/s
• keywords - words or phrases
• subject headings - words or phrases used to describe the subject content of a book, DVD or CD

If your search returns too many options use the  Limit your results to.

Catalogue only—tick to see only books on shelf or eBooks

Full Text – tick to limit results to articles with full text available from databases

Publication date – slide to search for articles only within a specified date range.

Further tips for using the catalogue are in the next tab - search strategies

eBooks

We subscribe to several collections of eBooks.

• EBL eBooks - over 450 eBooks on various topics.
• Informit eBooks - over 300 predominantly Australian eBooks.
• EBSCOhost eBooks - wide range of eBooks via EBSCOhost subscriptions.
• ScienceDirect eBooks - selected science related titles.

Use the following link to access all these collections: e-Books

You will need to login with your Box Hill Institute ID and password to access most of the collections.

Ebooks also appear in the Discovery catalogue - click on the links in the catalogue to download or read online.

Read our LibGuide to eBooks for more information on how to access eBooks.