Skip to main content
site header image

Library Studies: Books, E-books, DVDs and Journals

Information and resources to support Library Studies students at Box Hill Institute

Journals

Journal, or periodicals, are located in Dewey order, on the journal shelves in the Elgar Bookroom. All journals are available for loan.

AARL Australian Academic & Research Libraries (Now electronic too) PR 027.70994 AUS

ALJ The Australian Library Journal (Now electronic too) PR 020 AUS

AARL & ALJ are going to merge soon. They will become the Journal of the Australian Library and Information Association (JALIA).

Books + Publishing PR 015 BOO

Incite PR 020 INC

Magpies (Talking about books for children) PR 809.89282 MAG

National Library Magazine PR 027 NAT

Please also note that there are many relevant journals available online through the library's database collection. Click on the databases tab at the top of the screen for more information.

Selected E-Books from EBL

Access EBL e-books here or via the Library Database page or the catalogue. Requires Adobe Digital Editions to view e-books on your device or home PC  (one-time free download). Read these books online, or download to your device. Items downloaded are "loaned" for a period of 1-7 days after which time the file will become inactive. (You can download it again if you need to ). No Overdues!

Audio Visual Resources

A.V. resources CD and DVD Roms to accompany books are interfiled in the Elgar Library Bookroom collection. This means that they will be physically located amongst the books in one Dewey sequence.

DVDs are filed in a separate section, under Dewey call number.

There are also online videos that can be found via the library's database page. In particular, the Safetycare Montie range that cover all aspects of occupational health and safety may be useful. Access Montie from the Library Database page.

SafetyHub (Health and Safety videos for all industry areas)

Search for specific subjects

Click the link below to see library resources on that subject or browse the library collection at that call number

Search the library catalogue

Search our on shelf collection, e-books and most of our database content in one search

Discovery: One search, quality results

Limit Your Results
© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J