Use subject headings from the Library catalogue to find information on different aspects of fashion.
You can search for companies, or try these key terms clothing industry, fashion merchandising, marketing, internet marketing, digital marketing, consumer behavior, 20th century fashion, designers
A guide to researching Australian and international fashion, designs, designers, industries, textiles and fabrics, patterns, tailoring, dressmaking, uniforms, accessories, and body art using the resources of the State Library of Victoria
Most assignments require you to list the resources you have used for researching a topic and every item used, regardless of format, must be acknowledged.
Referencing libguide from the library
https://libguides.bhtafe.edu.au/harvard
This includes referencing from social media, images etc
Referencing libguide from Melbourne University library
https://library.unimelb.edu.au/recite
Everyone can google, but do you know what adding an asterisk to a search does? Or why/how to find the size of a garment in picture research? Make the most out of your online investigations with Amanda Sikarskie's top 5 tips - taken from her book Digital Research Methods in Fashion and Textile Studies.
Digital Research Methods in Fashion and Textile Studies by 
Global Sourcing in the Textile and Apparel Industry by 
The library catalogue is Discovery
Use the catalogue to search simultaneously for books in the library, search across multiple databases, ebook collections, and journal databases.
Discovery will link you to full text resources, ebooks and streaming videos.
Basic search: author/title/keyword
The catalogue searches for books on our shelves, eBooks, and some databases for articles related to your search terms.
Most recently published appears first.
You can narrow your search by using the options on the left hand side – limit to full text, catalogue only, publication date, geographical region
Advanced search: narrow your search
This allows you to select more search options –search for a particular journal, subject terms
Some tips:
Use a fashion dictionary or history of fashion book to assist you find search terms.
Use quotation marks to search for a phrase, or words which appear together. Eg. "MET GALA"
Use ? to match a single character. Eg globali?ation will match globalisation and globalization
Use # to match one or no character. Eg colo#r will match color and colour
Use * to match different word endings. Eg Textile* will match textile and textiles, blog* will find blog, blogs, bloggers and blogging
To locate resources on designers search by name: Christian Dior Alexander McQueen Coco Chanel
Use AND/OR/NOT
Eg Textile* AND innovation, fashion AND history, fashion AND stylists
Add keywords such as 70s OR 1970s, 18th, 19th, .or country or region such as Europe, Australia
Fashion AND Australia fashion AND (1970s OR 70s OR seventies)
“Supply chain” OR “business logistics” AND fashion
Look at your results to find subject terms. Eg Fashion writing, advertising –fashion, fashion communication, visual communication