Electronic resourcesMore resources on referencing
This is the "Home" page of the "Hospitality Management " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hospitality Management   Tags: hospitality, management  

An introductory guide to resources on BHM12 Bachelor of Hospitality Management.
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.bhtafe.edu.au/hospitality Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Box Hill Institute guide to studying Hospitality Management and Supervision. These resources support the courses that are currently taught at BHI.  

Staff and students at Box Hill Institute are welcome to contact me about any aspect of the library services and resources. I am based at the Elgar Campus Library so feel free to drop by, call or email.

 

New Books

Cover Art
Hospitality management: a brief introduction - Roy C. Wood
Call Number: 647.068 WOO
ISBN: 9781446246955
Publication Date: 2015
This book includes coverage of the principal areas of functional management in hospitality including: employee relations ; accommodation management ; food and beverage management ; marketing and sales ; industry structure and strategy ; the nature of management roles ; hospitality management education ; future trends in the field. The author uses a wide range of established and contemporary research and reflects critically on its subject, including from the perspective of the hospitality consumer, to ensure that readers gain wide awareness of the realities and challenges of the hospitality industry.

Cover Art
Introduction to hospitality management - 5th ed. - John R. Walker
Call Number: 647.94068 WAL
ISBN: 9780134151908
Publication Date: 2017
Capturing the breadth of the world’s largest and fastest growing business, Introduction to Hospitality Management, 5/e, gives an in-depth overview of both hospitality and management. The text is organized into five sections, with six chapters devoted to management: hospitality and lodging; beverages, restaurants, and managed services; tourism, recreation, attractions, clubs, and gaming; and assemblies, events, attractions, leadership, and management; managerial areas of the hospitality industry.

Cover Art
Foodservice management : principles and practices - Global 13th edition - June Payne-Palacio, Monica Theis.
Call Number: 647.95068 PAY
ISBN: 9781292104195
Publication Date: 2016
Covering topics like food safety, human resources, finance, equipment, design, marketing, and filled with real-life case studies, this text gives college students a deep understanding of the issues they will face in any type of foodservice operation. Rich with graphics and photos, its visually appealing design is organized for maximum student engagement and understanding. This edition has been updated to reflect new trends in sustainability and food safety issues.

Cover Art
Exploring the hospitality industry - 3rd edn - John R. Walker
Call Number: 338.4791 WAL
ISBN: 9780133762778
Publication Date: 2015
This textbook offers broad coverage of the hospitality industry. It focuses not just on restaurants & hotels but on new growth areas such as event management, theme parks, attractions & entertainment. Each chapter features case studies, industry practitioners & corporate profiles that emphasise the real-world issues.

Cover Art
Introduction to hospitality management - 4th ed. - John R. Walker, Josielyn T. Walker.
Call Number: 647.94068 WAL
ISBN: 9781292021010
Publication Date: 2014
Capturing the flavor and breadth of the industry, Introduction to Hospitality Management, Fourth Edition, explores all aspects of the field including: travel and tourism; lodging; foodservice; meetings, conventions and expositions; and leisure and recreation. Devoting six chapters to management, the text focuses on hospitality and management and uses first-person accounts, corporate profiles and industry morsels to foster a student’s appreciation for the field. Throughout, author John R. Walker invites students to share this industry’s unique enthusiasm and passion.

Cover Art
The restaurant: from concept to operation - 7th ed. - John R. Walker
Call Number: 647.95068 WAL
ISBN: 9781118629628
Publication Date: 2014
The Restaurant: From Concept to Operation takes the reader from the initial idea to the grand opening. It features comprehensive, applications-based coverage of all aspects of developing, opening, and running a restaurant. This includes topics such as staffing, legal and regulatory concerns, cost control and general financing, marketing and promotion, equipment and design, the menu, sanitation, and concept.

Cover Art
Project management : the managerial process - Australian edition - Erik W. Larson, Beverley Honig, Clifford F. Gray, Ursula Dantin, David Baccarini.
Call Number: 658.404 LAR
ISBN: 9781743071809
Publication Date: 2014
This text is distinguished by its balanced treatment of both the technical and behavioral issues in project management as well as by its coverage of a broad range of industries to which project management principles can be applied. It focuses on how project management is integral to the organization as a whole. This text reflects the latest changes found in the practice.

Cover Art
Principles of corporate finance - 11th Global ed. - Richard A. Brealey, Stewart C. Myers, Franklin Allen
Call Number: 658.15 BRE
ISBN: 9780077151560
Publication Date: 2014
This text describes the theory and practice of corporate finance. Throughout the book, the authors show how managers use financial theory to solve practical problems and as a way to respond to change by showing not just how, but why companies and management act as they do. This text is a valued reference for thousands of practicing financial managers.

Cover Art
An introduction to revenue management for the hospitality industry: principles and practices for the real world - Pearson New International Edition - Tranter, Stuart-Hill, Parker
Call Number: 647.94068 TRA
ISBN: 9781292027159
Publication Date: 2014
The first of its kind, this book was written to address the emerging course in Hospitality focused on revenue management. Based on the authors' years of industry experience, this book includes a model for understanding the revenue management process and reveals four basic building blocks to revenue management success. With chapters dedicated to consumer behavior, economic principles, and strategic management, it outlines key processes and stages of revenue management planning.

Cover Art
21st-century networking: how to become a natural networker - David Sole; Belinda Roberts
Call Number: 650.13 SOL
ISBN: 9781783962310
Publication Date: 2015
The essential guide to connecting for success. It is easy to underestimate the power of a strong business network. Many people see it as an 'optional extra' - another task to fit into an already crammed diary. However, interpersonal relationships remain at the heart of success. Unless we invest time in networking, we are limiting our ability to achieve, to grow and to develop our business. The good news is, it's never too late to start networking. In straightforward and simple terms, 21st Century Networking shows you how to take a pragmatic and practical approach to developing this core skill. Including chapters on how to assess your networks, developing your personal brand, the softer skills of networking, using social media and making networking part of your everyday life, the book is filled with case studies to bring the theory to life through real examples. 21st Century Networking provides all you need to take charge of your network - today.

Cover Art
Growing pains: building sustainably successful organizations - 5th ed. - Eric G. Flamholtz and Yvonne Randle.
Call Number: 658.4063 FLA
ISBN: 9781118916407
Publication Date: 2016
This is a guide to the life cycle of an organization, and the optimization strategies that make the organization stronger. Whether growth is rapid, slow, or not occurring at all, this book provides a host of solid tools and recommendations for putting everything in order. Now in its fifth edition, this invaluable guide has been fully updated to reflect the current economic climate, and includes new case studies and chapters discussing nonprofit life cycle tools, leadership challenges and the "leadership molecule," and real-world applications of the frameworks presented.

Cover Art
Strategic customer relationship management in the age of social media - Amir Khanlari (Editor)
Call Number: 658.812 STR
ISBN: 9781466685864
Publication Date: 2015
This book provides a variety of strategies, applications, tools, and techniques for corporate success in social media in a coherent and conceptual framework offering the resources necessary to adopt and implement social CRM strategies within their organizations.

Cover Art
Business ethics : new challenges in a globalized world - Janet Morrison
Call Number: 174.4 MOR
ISBN: 9781137309495
Publication Date: 2015
Business Ethics: New Challenges in a Globalized World provides a comprehensive account of the challenges facing businesses as they pursue global business activities. The importance of business ethics as an academic subject and business priority has increased significantly, as companies have increasingly been placed in the moral spotlight by shareholders, consumers, employees and governments. The growing complexities of the global economy demand a broader and a deeper view of business ethics than that offered by current management approaches that focus on reforming corporate behaviour.

Cover Art
Successful project management - 6th ed. - James P. Clements; Jack Gido
Call Number: 658.404 GID
ISBN: 9781285068374
Publication Date: 2015
This book presents everything you need to know to work successfully in today's exciting project management environment, from the organization and management of effective project teams to planning, scheduling, and cost management. Revised chapters closely align with the PMBOK (Project Management Body of Knowledge) framework to ensure that you are mastering today's best management practices. Coverage of the latest business developments and challenges introduce issues such as project constraints, the project charter, and how projects relate to an organization's strategic plan.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of strategy - 3rd ed. - Gerry Johnson; Richard Whittington; Kevan Scholes; Patrick Regnèr; Duncan Angwin
Call Number: 658.4012 JOH
ISBN: 9781292017211
Publication Date: 2015
Provides insights and strategy stories from wide range of international organisations, real world strategy problems. Key contemporary strategic issues such as internationalisation, entrepreneurship, social responsibility, corporate ownership, governance. Cases on small, large organisations profit, not-for-profit sectors, operating all over the world.

Cover Art
Brilliant PRINCE2: what you really need to know about Prince2 - Stephen Barker
Call Number: 658.404 BAR
ISBN: 9780273750536
Publication Date: 2013
Everything you need to know about the PRINCE2 qualification, whether your studying, have passed the exam and wondering what to do next, or simply wanting to start using the best of PRINCE2 straight away. This book is designed to give practical information and advice about the project management method PRINCE2. This is a lighter version of the official text and more accessible, providing only what you need to know. It includes a reference map of PRINCE2's approach and themes - a unique feature that will provide a rich, graphical representation of PRINCE2's key features.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Simon Stockdale
Contact Info
Simon Stockdale
Information Services Librarian
Elgar Campus Library
Location: E3.225
Ph: 9286 9279
Send Email
 

Encyclopedia

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management - 2nd ed. - Abraham Pizam (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: 647.068 PIZ
ISBN: 9781856177146
Publication Date: 2010
The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from both a sectoral level: lodging, restaurants, clubs, time-share, conventions, as well as a functional one: accounting & finance, marketing, human resources, information technology and facilities management.

 

Purchasing

Cover Art
Purchasing : selection and procurement for the hospitality industry - 8th ed. - Andrew H. Feinstein & John M. Stefanelli
Call Number: 647.94068 FEI
ISBN: 9780470290460
This eighth edition balances purchasing activities with product and information from a management perspective. In order to reflect changes in the field, technology applications in the purchasing function are discussed.

Cover Art
Guide to Purchasing - Thomas Schneller, Brad Matthews
Call Number: 642.5 MAT
ISBN: 9781428319882
Publication Date: 2011
Since the food industry is full of trends that change frequently, this book will help the buyer to understand the importance of trends and how to make the right decision in ordering ingredients by writing product specifications for food service vendors.

Cover Art
Purchasing for chefs: a concise guide - 2nd ed - Andrew H. Feinstein; John M. Stefanelli
ISBN: 9780470292167
Publication Date: 2010
Purchasing for Chefs teaches students and chefs the basic principles of how to purchase goods and services in order to run their businesses effectively. It contains sections on "Purchasing Technology" that explains purchasing lingo beyond the scope of the book as well as illustrating different tools used in purchasing.

 

Cost Control

Cover Art
Food and beverage cost control - 5th ed. - Lea R. Dopson & David K. Hayes
Call Number: 647.950681 DOP
ISBN: 9780470251386
Publication Date: 2011
This book provides students and managers with the wide-ranging knowledge and specific solutions they need to keep costs low and margins high.

Cover Art
Understanding Foodservice Cost Control - 3rd ed. - Timothy H. Hill, Donna J. Faria and Edward E. Sanders
Call Number: 647.95 SA
ISBN: 9780131714878
Publication Date: 2007
This book is the guide to how to maximise revenues, control expenses, and optimise financial objectives. Chapter topics include the control process, food cost percentage, inventory management, requisitions, purchasing functions and receiving merchandise.

© Box Hill Institute RTO: 4687 CRICOS: 02411J
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip